Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Fisher-Price.

SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System

It’s a stationary bike, a learning center, and an arcade game system—all rolled into one! Smart Cycle plugs right into your TV, ready to take kids on learning adventures like no other. As they pedal, favorite character friends guide them through learning discoveries, games, and even exciting races. Bring the arcade experience home, with multiple levels of play for different ages and stages! (TV set not included.) Includes Learning Adventure game cartridge, with 3 ways to play: 1. Drive: Pedal, steer and learn at your own pace—visit Math Mountain, Shape Lake, Number Fields, Letter Creek and other stops along the way. 2. Learn: Stop and rest, but don’t stop learning! Use the joystick to reinforce important learning skills with plenty of games and activities—with different levels for growing kids. 3. Race: Put the pedal to the metal as you race with cars on-screen, against the clock, or with another player! Requires 4 "D" (LR20) alkaline batteries (not included). Assembled cycle is approx. 25" H x 18½" W x 27" L. Teaches: upper & lowercase letters numbers & counting spelling problem-solving shapes matching creativity spatial reasoning motor skills & lots more!
3.607
3.6
(112 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (112 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
32
3 stars
25
2 stars
14
1 star
8
75 of 112(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Review 21 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Janesville,WI
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
so much fun for everyone!
December 30, 2008
"i purchased this for my son for christmas this year. He'll be 4 the beginning of january. My roommates two sons also love the toy and they are 8 and 3. it keeps them all entertained and holds their attention for a very long time. the younger two boys arent the best at peddling (my son peddles backwards which makes his car go backwards) but both really enjoy the side games they can play with the joystick.and they have gotten very good at the memory games. it was well worth the money so far."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:L'Anse, Michigan
Number of kids: 4
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
Love this product
December 29, 2008
"I purchased the Smart Cycle for my 5 year old grandson who is having trouble in Kindergarten with letter and number recognition. He loves it and so do I. What an educational tool. He loves to ride the bike and will get extra points in his gym class for the exercise he gets while playing his games. It has only been two days since he received it for Christmas and he is already doing get with letter recognition and letter sounds. He loves to be able to pick his vehicle and color. Great product would highly recommend it to anyone. Keep up the great work. Love to purchase educational toys such as this for my grandchildren."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
If it worked, the bike would be great.
December 28, 2008
"I purchased this smart cycle about a year ago for my son. He loves it. The concept is great, unfortunately, a pedal fell off (I just placed the order for the replacement) and the bike does not come on. I constantly replace the batteries and in order for it to come on one must manipulate the batteries. Obviously, that requires a lot of work and the battery turnover is insane. Again, it is a great idea, but I wouldn't tell anyone else to purchase it. It is not worth the trouble."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Lompoc, CA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Couple problems, but great customer service
December 27, 2008
"I followed the directions for the pedals very closely and had no problems there. I had a problem with the handlebar buttons not lighting up, so I called customer service in BUF, NY and they were great. I unscrewed and snapped the handlebars and, sure enough, the connector was undone. Quick enough fix and now my son is happy again. Thanks, Fisher Price for continuing to be a reliable company to deal with!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Wasilla, AK
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Mom
good buy
November 12, 2008
"I think this toy was worth every penny. My kids love it and played it all the time. After about 3 months one of the peddals broke off but fortunately there is a place on the fisher price web site where you can buy new parts for your smart cycle, pedals, wires, etc.
I don't understand all of these complaints about the pedals and wires breaking and how that makes it a waste of money. Those parts are super cheap and easy to replace. Right now ours is out of commission until we get the new pedals. The kids keep asking when I'm gonna fix it, so I know they will be on it constantly once we get the new parts.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Antigo, WI
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
My son loves this!
October 29, 2008
"My 4 year old has had this since last Christmas, and he still plays with it regularly (I was worried he might lose interest with only 3 games) and is still excited about it. We have not had any problems with the pedals during that time, and his rough cousins have all had turns on it (including a 90 pound 7 year old). Looking at the other reviews, maybe we were lucky, but we really haven't had any problems with it. I would recommend it to anyone!
PS I'm really excited to see new games available! I'm sure Santa will need to bring him a few!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Detroit MI
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
Not a very good purchase
October 28, 2008
"I purchased the smart cycle for 3 yr old grandson and before he could ever learn to use it or even enjoy it, the pedal stripped. I really wish there was a way to get it replaced. Until there is , I would not recommend this product to anyone, it's a $100 waste right now."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:michigan
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Good Learning Toy
October 22, 2008
"My son (3 yrs old) recieved this toy for Christmas and loved it. He would play on it everyday and he learned his letters, numbers, shapes, colors, as well as being able to burn up some energy. The only thing I did not like is that the cords in the front are weak. When my son tried to ride it once, the cords got caught in the pedals and the cord snapped. There isn't a way to fix it so it is basically money down the drain."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:WV
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Good product
October 8, 2008
"We have owned this toy for over a year now. Sometimes we have issues with the toy turning on, but that's the only problem we've had with it. It's held up to my son's beatings very well. It's educational and keeps his interest for a very long time. With the variety of games for this toy, I see my son being entertained with this toy for quite a long time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Vancouver WA
Number of kids: More than 4
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Need to be able to get replacement parts
October 7, 2008
"This is a great idea, lots of fun for the kids until the right pedal broke. I was on this site to find replacement parts but it does not appear you can get them. I read the response to the previous pedal issue but it sounds like "if you buy a new one, we improved that one" response. We already spent a $100.00 on a childs toy, please give us useful information like how to get the replacement bolt for the pedal. Again would be a great toy if it did not break after 1 month use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:New Jersey
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Fabulous!
October 6, 2008
"My son has autism and it took him longer than most children his age to "pedal" a bike. He had started to pedal a little so we bought him the Smart Cycle hoping that it would encourage him to pedal. It worked, you should see him pedal now! Also, at first he wouldn't/couldn't steer but having to catch/hit the numbers and letters helped him to learn to steer. Not only does he pedal like a champ, he can steer too while learning his letters and numbers! This is the BEST toy for him and he LOVES it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Pittsburgh PA
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Needs some improvement
September 29, 2008
"My son loves the bike and I think the games have educational value, but we were only able to use ours for about 9 months before the a/v cord became entangled in the pedal and broke. The entire cord should be able to be replaced, not just the last 3 feet or "break away cord". (The portion of the cord that is closest to the petal is nowhere near the "break away cord"). If this problem could be corrected, then I would certainly recommend this to friends, it's a great rainy day toy... but not worth the money if you can't use it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Utah
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
Disappointing
September 22, 2008
"My grandson (5 years old) doesn't play with this a lot, but when the weather is a little cooler and he can't go outside, he really enjoys it. After only about 2 dozen times playing with it, the right pedal broke. He is very disappointed since we are heading into the winter months. Even though he wants me to buy him another one, I wouldn't. Too bad. It's a great idea for little kids."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Smart Cycle Product Integrity TeamOctober 28, 2008
Following the release of the Smart Cycle in 2007, consumers told us they were having difficulties with the pedals. In response, we made a number of changes to the product and developed a detailed guide on how to assemble the pedals correctly. It can be a little tricky and you need to be certain you’re tightening the pedals enough. We’re sorry if this causes frustration, but let us assure you that once Smart Cycle is assembled correctly, it’s ready to roll! Follow the steps in the “Assembling the pedals” link at the top of the Smart Cycle website page, and please contact our Customer Service representatives with further questions; they’re ready to help you with this issue.
Review 34 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Illinois
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Awesome!
August 19, 2008
"My son loves video games, but at age 3 couldn't play them well. This is wonderful because not only can he play the games and learn something, but there is also physical exercise in the pedaling. Especially great in the winter when he can't get outside much."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Ramstein, AB
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Smart Cycle Beware!!!
October 27, 2008
"Yes, I agree waste of money!!! The pedals are stripped and now my boys cannot use it. We only had it a month."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Smart Cycle Product Integrity TeamOctober 29, 2008
Just like a real bicycle, Smart Cycle pedals are not interchangeable (there is a left threaded pedal and a right threaded pedal). It's important to assemble the right pedal on the right side of your Smart Cycle, and the left pedal on the left side. To help you, we’ve stamped and labeled each pedal and pedal axle with an "R" for the right side and an "L" for the left side. To tighten the pedals, you'll need to turn the left pedal counter-clockwise (which is different from how you would normally tighten) and the right pedal clockwise. Be sure to tighten both pedals firmly with the enclosed assembly tool and you're ready to roll!
Review 36 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Cumberland, RI
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Lots of fun but...
October 21, 2008
"My boys (3 and 5) received this for Christmas last year and love it. I am so happy to see that there are more cartridges available this year, as we were concerned last year that there would not be enough variety of games to hold their interest. The only thing that I would like to see improved is Fisher Price should make a connection cable (or something) so that you can hook 2 bikes up together. This way 2 players can play the games at the same time. Both boys always want to play together and can't do that with this game."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Niagara Falls, NY
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Excellent for Active Boy
February 3, 2009
"I bought the Smartcycle hoping that my active little boy would have something to do during cold winter days when he was stuck indoors. This product came through even better than I hoped! He spent 4 hours on it the first day and every day he uses it he spends at least an hour usually more. I have only changed the batteries once since Christmas and that is with almost daily use. The right pedal fell off a couple times at first but hasn't since so no complaints there. I recommend this for housebound active boys!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:oneida,ny
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
great product but INSANE battery use
December 30, 2008
"i bought the smartcycle for my 4 year old son and he absolutely loves it!! and i love it because it's something that keeps his attention, he learns, and it gives him a work out. the only downfall to this toy is the battery turn over. i'm going through 4D batteries like everyday. i have to start using rechargables. i think that if they try to upgrade this toy, fisher price should seriously think about making it something that plugs into the wall."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Sidney, MT
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Ok Purchase
December 19, 2008
"My in-laws bought this product for my son a year ago. He uses it quite a bit, I have yet to replace the batteries. the only problem I have had with it is that just recently the right pedal fell off and we can not put it back on because the screw wore down. But other than that it is a great product. Every kid that comes to my house always wants to play the bike game."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for SMART CYCLE® Physical Learning Arcade System
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Kildare Ireland
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Need help
October 31, 2008
"The only thing I had a problem with, is the fact that we had to keep buying batteries for the smart cycle. otherwise its brill. I really need help though, as the smart cycle only new and the leads have come away from the cycle, I dont know how to rewire, is there a place anywhere in Ireland that you could recommend to fix the smart cycle, as I dont want it to go to waste.
Best wishes
Linda
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>