Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Fisher-Price.

Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers

This sleek monitor was designed to make it easy to stay in touch with baby, and two receivers make it more convenient than ever to monitor baby from different locations in your home. There are sound-activated lights on both sides of each receiver so it’s easier to see baby’s activity from wherever you might be. There’s also a built-in nightlight on the transmitter to help you see better when you’re peeking into the nursery. And with two channels to minimize interference, you’ll have a crystal-clear connection – up to 400 feet! Transmitter operates on AC current and has an energy-saving power cord that, unlike other monitors, will not draw energy when the monitor is turned off. Receivers operate on AC current or require 3 AAA batteries each, for a total of 6 AAA. Fisher-Price does not recommend the use of two monitors in one house. Better for mom because … Sound lights to see and hear baby’s call, on both sides of the receivers. Crystal clear reception – up to 400 feet under permitting conditions! Two channels minimize interference. Transmitter has a built-in nightlight for the nursery. Sleek, slim styling makes the receivers more portable than ever. Belt clip on receivers for hands-free convenience. Power light lets you see at a glance when the monitor is on or off. Energy-saving power cord. Receivers are AC powered, or battery powered for portability. Low battery indicator.
2.7
2.7
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
5
9 of 20(45%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Review 1 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Ga
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
stopped working in year.
September 9, 2010
"I got this as a gift before our daughter was born. By the time she was 9 months one of the receivers started going on the fritz. The sound goes in and out and then just out all together. The green light stays on SO I thought it was working but it wasn't. Now my daughter is just over a year and the second one is cutting out all the time. We have to go buy a new monitor because I do not trust this one to work. This is very upsetting to me. The product should last for more than a year. I no longer have the box so I can't return it."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Attractive appearance 
1 5
1 5
Has features important to me 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Avon, IN
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Worst monitor!
July 27, 2010
"So much static since the beginning. Tried in different rooms, still the same static noise. After a couple of months of use, one receiver completely stopped working.
Some times can't hear the baby at all. Won't recommend anyone to buy this product.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Attractive appearance 
4 5
4 5
Has features important to me 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Ohio
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Worst ever!!
April 19, 2010
"After a couple months, it started fading in and out. So the light blinks but no sound. It was never dropped or damaged in any other way, just stopped working. Very disappointed. Would recommend to friends IF they didn't want to use the monitor for it's purpose."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Attractive appearance 
3 5
3 5
Has features important to me 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Western Australia
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Sounds 'n Lights Baby Monitor
February 5, 2010
"This baby monitor produces constant static and sometimes very loud static depending on where you stand in the house. So having it next to the bed at night is totally out of the question, it drives you insane. I am very disappointed with my purchase especially because it wasnt exactly cheap ($90AU). I now need to go and buy another monitor and it wont be a Fisher Price brand. I would definitely NOT recommend this product."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Attractive appearance 
3 5
3 5
Has features important to me 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Flint MI
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Good purchase
January 19, 2010
"This monitor is a great monitor. The only two complaints I have are; it does not stay clipped on to you in my experiences and also I have hd trouble getting them to turn on before. Having to continuious click it on and off until final it would turn on. It doesn't happen all of the time though. Besides those issues, it works great. You can literally hear them breathing through it."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Attractive appearance 
3 5
3 5
Has features important to me 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Medicine Hat, AB
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Too Much Noise
November 10, 2009
"I have had the same problem that most people have outlined in their reviews. We went through 2 different sets and both times there was way too much static and outside noise that we could barely stand to have it on. The first set eventually just started cutting out (we only used the AC adaptors and barely moved it around, dropped it or any other kind of abuse). The second set ended up doing the exact same thing until the one receiver didn't work at all. I loved being able to hear my daughter so well but it sure wasn't necessary to hear the cars drive by outside her bedroom window! We have bought a different set totally (new brand) and love it =)"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Attractive appearance 
4 5
4 5
Has features important to me 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:tracy, ca
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
keep breaking
September 18, 2009
"I have bought 2 different sets of these. the 1st set worked good until the monitors just didnt work any more (they are always up high so my son never gets ahold of them and they have never been dropped) so I went and bought another set and 1 of my monitors just went out again. I dont recomend this 2 any1"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Attractive appearance 
5 5
5 5
Has features important to me 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:wilkes-barre, pa
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
not so good
September 2, 2009
"have this monitor for 2 months and the volume control is broken already. there is no way to adjust, it just spins around. before this happened, i was very happy with this product, but for $40 i expect to get more than 2 months use."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Attractive appearance 
4 5
4 5
Has features important to me 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:54481
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Static
August 25, 2009
"Looks nice.I like the lights and size.But the static drives us crazy,no matter where we put it or what channel it is on. Does pick up every sound though. And no interference from other sources."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Attractive appearance 
4 5
4 5
Has features important to me 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Washington, IL
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Not so good!
June 28, 2009
"I loved this monitor at first. But then I realized if I turned it up to even hear my son I would constantly hear static, ALL NIGHT!! Then one of the handhelds just quit working all together. Batteries wouldn't work and it wouldn't work plugged in. My husband is just about to throw the monitor out the window if he hears it one more night. Not good if you care about your windows :) Good Luck"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Attractive appearance 
5 5
5 5
Has features important to me 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Number of kids: 4
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Reasonable Purchase
May 27, 2009
"We have been using this product for 8 months now and I do like it alot. The only problem we have had is that it sucks batteries like there is no tomorrow, however, some of that would be my fault for not turning it off when we do not need it. We do get some static in some places in the house but overall it has done its job well."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Attractive appearance 
4 5
4 5
Has features important to me 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Summerville, SC
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
This monitor saved my family!
March 5, 2009
"This monitor saved my family's life. We had a fire in the apartment next door and because this monitor is so sensitive I was able to hear the crackle of the fire outside and it woke me up. Thankfully our family is okay and the fact that I woke up it saved the lives of 10 other families. Buy this monitor!! I plan on buting a new one to replace the one we lost."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Attractive appearance 
4 5
4 5
Has features important to me 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:hampton, va
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
not so happy
February 17, 2009
"i recieved this monitor at my baby shower and i loved the way it looked and the light and sound feature, which i still love. however, my monitor picks up so much white noise including radio stations. whenever we are using them there is a constant buzzing, even on both stations. also, we have changed the batteries several times but it has to be plugged in to work. overall, i am very unhappy with this product!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Attractive appearance 
5 5
5 5
Has features important to me 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:AL
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Still using after 16 months
November 14, 2008
"I love the fact that I can go outside while my son sleeps, but still know that I can hear him if he needs me. These do pick up EVERY noise, BUT that helped me not be overly protective of my son. It forced me to turn the monitor very low. That was great, because my husband and I slept better. Plus, Cole was able to soothe himself since I didn't jump up and run in there every time he rolled over. :)"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Attractive appearance 
4 5
4 5
Has features important to me 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Illinois
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Good Buy
October 23, 2008
"I would recommend this product. The only thing that I wished it had was capability to play music. Other than that, it was crisp in sound and we hear everything from my daughters room...sometimes too much...streching and all!!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Attractive appearance 
4 5
4 5
Has features important to me 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Covina, CA
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Good monitor
October 20, 2008
"Only complaint would be that there should be more channels to switch to when there is a lot of static."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Attractive appearance 
5 5
5 5
Has features important to me 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Nashville, TN
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
pretty good monitor
October 18, 2008
"We have been using this product for over 5 months, and it's worked great! I have noticed that we do tend to pick up one radio station upstairs in our bedroom, but it's quiet enough that it doesn't bother anyone. The second monitor is convienient to keep downstairs (no interferance) and even use outside. I love the lights. They help me see how loud the baby is even if the volume is down. I also like the night light on the base. The light is not too bright but any light helps."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Attractive appearance 
4 5
4 5
Has features important to me 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
we love these
October 8, 2008
"We received these as a gift and love them. I especially like that they are AC or battery. With two monitors, we hardly ever unplug them. We keep one in the bedroom and one in the kitchen. This way no matter where we are in the house, we can hear what is going on in his room. We have even taken it out on our deck and it picks up great. As in other posts, we have not picked up radio stations."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Attractive appearance 
4 5
4 5
Has features important to me 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Tunkhannock, PA
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great monitor!
October 7, 2008
"I bought this monitor a few months ago because my video monitor had too much static and would get worse when the phone rang. I found that this one doesn't pick up other frequencies in my house. And with the long antenna it works all the way accross the house. I now turn the sound off on my video monitor and use this one with it and they don't interfere with each other. It saved me from having to buy a new and very expensive video monitor."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sounds ’n Lights Monitor with dual receivers
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Attractive appearance 
3 5
3 5
Has features important to me 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:PA
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Very unhappy
August 26, 2008
"I recieved this as a baby shower gift and I thought it would be great, but I was extremely disappointed. I like the fact that the recievers can be used with batteries or an AC Adapter and that I do not have to have the monitor right next to the baby to pick up sound. Unfortuately, the recievers pick up every little sound including local radio stations and telephones. I tried switching between the two frequencies but it happens on both of them. I can't return the product because no reciept was given to me and I don't have the original packaging. I would not recommend this product to anyone! Be smart and spend the extra money on a monitor that does not use this type of frequency or you will end up like me. Now I have to go out and spend the extra money on one that I can actually use!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.