Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Fisher-Price.

Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR

Meet Spike, the dinosaur that kids bring to life at the touch of a button! He walks, he stands on his hind legs, he blinks, his mouth opens and closes, his spikes light up—and you make it happen with the easy-to-use remote control! Spike makes lots of fun sounds, too. He growls, he snorts , he roars and more—he’s Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR! Spike stands 27” tall. Requires 3 AA alkaline batteries. Rechargeable battery included (9.6 Volt) NiMH—a $25 retail value!
3.619
3.6
(42 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
7
29 of 42(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Review 1 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:New Richmond, OH
Number of kids: 0
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Uncle
Good pet substitute
March 2, 2010
"I gave Spike for Christmas to one of my grandnephews. Afterwards he told me that this was exactly what he wanted. He still plays with Spike from time to time. It is awesome to watch him when Spike stands on his hind legs and roars. For little kids who cannot have a puppy or a kitten, Spike appears to be a good interim substitute."
Review 2 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Aunt
Adorable
February 7, 2010
"This dinosaur is adorable. He is very sturdy. Although the battery only lasts 5 minutes."
Review 3 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Colorado
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great!
February 3, 2010
"Our son wanted this very badly. He plays with it constantly. He is 3. It took him a while to figure out the controls, but the pictures really help. He can't get enough of it. There's nothing else like it that we can find. I highly recommend this. I'm worried about the duribility with 2 boys, but time will tell. He understands you can't force it now. The battery takes 4 hours to charge and he turned it off when he napped or ate and wasn't playing with it but it did die around 6pm. I wish it had a longer battery life."
Review 4 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Quakertown, PA
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Spike is fabulous
February 2, 2010
"Our 3.5 year old son received Spike for Christmas. He loves it, but his 18 month old brother loves it even more. Our 18 month old (is very strong!) picks up Spike and carries him all over and drags him by the neck when he wants him turned back on. Spike has been dropped several times and is a tough toy. We are very happy with Spike. He is fun for the whole family, he even keeps our 5 month old entertained when her brothers are playing with him. I highly recommend this toy."
Review 5 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Bartow, Florida
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great toy but outrageously priced.
January 20, 2010
"Great toy! My 2 year old son loved him in the store when he was in the display case. However when he opened him up Christmas and we put the batteries in he was scared of him. Would recommend for kids 5 and up. So we will hang onto Spike until he is not afraid of him. Us parents had a blast playing with him!!"
Review 6 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Bensalem, PA
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
So Entertaining!
January 14, 2010
"Spike the dinosaur was a great gift for my 3 year old son. The assembly wasn't difficult, just took a little time. We charged him the appropriate amount of time. Then once that was done - my son played with him. It took him about 2 - 3 tries to get down the remote, but has no problems now. The charge lasts here. My son plays with the dinosaur daily and we haven't had to charge him yet (it's been over a week). Spike is a great TOY and very entertaining for everyone in the house (even the adults)!"
Review 7 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Jacksonville Florida
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
terrible charging system
January 12, 2010
"There is no way that a 3 year old can operate this by themselves. The batteries wear out after about 3 hours and are not very accessible. You need a screwdriver to unlatch the door, you must take out the battery and plug it in to charge. It needs to have a simpler charging system."
Review 8 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Ohio
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Uncertain, but pleasently surprised!
January 10, 2010
"I was uncertain about purchasing Spike after reading some less than stellar reviews. Although, I was pleasently surprised. My 4 yr old loves Spike! He can easily use the remote control and we have only had to charge the battery twice (the first was the initial charge). I could see that if Spike is used ALOT you may have to charge more often. My son plays with him once or twice daily. If I had one complaint, it would be that Spike does not go in reverse! He can do so much already...why not add a reverse feature?!"
Review 9 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Washington
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Spike ROCKS!
January 7, 2010
"This is the best toy we've ever bought. My son loves the way Spike moves and walks, very realistic. The remote is easy to work and has many interactive buttons to make play fun. The lights on the back of the dino and the way the eyes and mouth move really bring reality to play! The included rechargable battery pack means my son can enjoy his toy longer without having to keep batteries on hand. The remote requires replaceable batteries, but all in all, a great toy for imaginative preschoolers."
Review 10 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:VA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Disappointment for Christmas
December 28, 2009
"Growing up as a boy with a brother. My parents knew the rule for buying two of the same remote control toys. Two different colors, two different frequencies. I never thought that on Christmas my children would have to take turns playing with two different toys. I most frustrating part is that when I called Fisher-Price the very nice rep. told me that the question of only one frequency had come up in training sessions. Also I have found people on-line complaining of this issue in 2008. Why is it not fixed?"
Review 11 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Spike can't hang
December 28, 2009
"Very disappointed that Spike's battery only lasts for about an hour. My 3 year old hardley wants to wait 4 hours for the battery to charge. For $140.00 kids should be able to play longer. :o("
Review 12 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:lemoore ca
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
spike is a bust
December 26, 2009
"My 3 yr screamed and yell for Spike after one step he stop working. New remote is enroute will update to see if the remote was the issue or if Spike is really a bust."
Review 13 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Wisconsin
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Mom
One controller controls both dino's
December 26, 2009
"We purchased two Spikes this year for our two boys ages 6 & 3. Of course their eyes bulged when they found them under the tree this year. They REALLY enjoy playing with them; unfortunately they can't play with them together in the same room. It appears they use the same frequency. One controller controls both dino's making it pretty frustrating to the 6 year old that knows what he wants Spike to do. Having a few differenct frequency selection is a needed improvement. In addition; the rechargeable battery is a great idea. Having the ability to recharge without having to remove the battery pack would be a big plus."
Review 14 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Ortonville, MI
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
Poor quality
December 23, 2009
"Ran out at 11:30 pm to get Spike. Put him together the night before Christmas Eve and he does not work correctly. The leg will not lock into place impairing his ability to walk.
I was skeptical on buying him due to the mixed reviews. This only confirms my skepticism-this is a very expensive toy to have it not work correctly. The day before Christmas and no toy for my Grandson."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:L.A, CA
Number of kids: More than 4
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandfather
My WORST buy... EVER!
October 25, 2009
"I've purchased a lot of gifts in my day, BUT THIS ONE WAS THE WORST! I only bought it because it was a dinosaur, And my Grand Children LOVE dinosaurs, But not this one! It's loud, Ugly, and just plain ANNOYING! IT DOESN'T TEACH MANNERS- it destroys them! Don't EVER buy Spike, the dinosaur.
P.S. It costs 140! Cheap!"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Colorado
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Wonderful toy from Fisher-Price!
August 7, 2009
"After reading all of the reviews with issues regarding battery life and mechanical problems, I felt that I needed to add our positive review here. We purchased Spike for our 2 1/2 year old for Christmas '08, and have had nothing but positive experience with it. We are just having to recharge our battery pack for the first time (in August '09), and Spike has worked perfectly from the moment we put him together and continuously ever since. I am sad to hear that others have had problems with it working properly. It is a family favorite here...highly recommended! Way to go Fisher-Price for a great toy. (Our 6 year old girl enjoys it, as well.)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Reston, VA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Spike - My Son's Best Christmas Gift!
February 9, 2009
"My 3-3/4 year old son got Spike for Christmas, and even though it was surrounded by many other presents and toys (including a Tribot and Wall-E) happily yelled "Spike!" from across the room and ran right to it, when he came down Christmas morning! Spike has held his attention ever since! Over the first few days, the first one we had developed a problem of conking out every few seconds until you gently touched it again, which seemed to be related to a motion/position sensor not working quite right? Customer support was very friendly and helpful, first sending a new battery pack (which did not fix the problem) and eventually (a month and a half later) a replacement Spike - which so far has worked perfectly! As a parent, I really apprechiated the "we'll get this fixed for you" attitude of Customer Service - despite the necessary delays in working through the process... My son loves the fact that he can operate the remote control very easily by himself (although sometimes he needs some help steering), the actions Spike can do, the cool sounds it makes, and the way he can chomp bolders and his bones! Spike is pretty big which is both a good and bad thing. It is good because Spike is awesome when he is running and holds my son's attention really well (Spike demands attention when he walks or roars), and bad because it takes a big room to have space for it and is difficult for my som to try carrying by himself (a built in handle in Spike's back would have been helpful), so needs some adult assistance to move from room to room in the house. Mechanically Spike is very robust and very capable of operating outside in dry weather! We often play with it outside, where Spike does very well on the driveway or front lawn with short grass - as long as his delicate balance isn't thrown off too much by uneven ground. My son has loved Spike ever since he first saw him, and especially now that Spike is working perfectly once again! Great play value!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Spike broke within an hour
January 19, 2009
"We bought this as a birthday present for my 3 year old twin boys because they love to see Spike in the stores and on the computer. They always make me play the Spike commercial on the website. HOWEVER, within an hour of unpacking and building Spike, the mouth stopped working and he froze up and wouldn't move.
We returned the item for a full refund and will not purchase another."
Review 19 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great...until mouth stops working
January 18, 2009
"We bought this for our son, who is 4, back in October. We knew that he wanted it because he'd been watching it on the FP website since it was first released. We bought it back in October because our local store was offering a wonderful sale. Unfortunately, we waited until Christmas to give it to our son and have since lost our receipt. Spike was wonderful for a couple of weeks and then his mouth just stopped working. Now we don't know what to do with it. I wonder what kind of help FP is offering, as it seems a lot of these are having the same problems. Sigh..."
Review 20 for Imaginext® Spike the ULTRA DINOSAUR
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Liberty Center, Ohio
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
My sons heartbreak
January 10, 2009
"My son saw this and went nuts eveytime we went past the display in the store. Because this was an expensive gift we tried several times and he still seemed like he liked it so we made the purchase. The only purchase we could afford this Christmas so you mush understand how hard it was that on the same day he opened it that it didn't work. It worked for a couple of hours but then it started to misfunction, run out of batery power and the mouth does not work. Since we purchased it 30 days before Christmas at Thanksgiving the store would not take it back, and they don't have one for us to exchange it with. Thanks for the hearbreak."
1 2 3 next>>