Product Reviews

Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)

Baby kicks. Music plays. And that’s just the beginning. Movable toys on the overhead gym encourage baby to bat and grasp.
3.739
3.7
(46 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
7
33 of 46(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Review 1 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Clayton, Ohio
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Dad
Charging Spike's Battery
November 15, 2008
"We really like Spike the dino. He's a lot of fun when I get the chance to play with him. He's a lot of fun for the kids too. My only complaint is charging the battery. With a toy the size of a dog would it be asking too much to include an external charging port somewhere on the outside? Every time I need to charge the battery I have to get a screwdriver out and open the case. I realize there would have to be some way of keeping the toy from operating while plugged in. Maybe it could have a small door over the charging port that would deactivate the unit for charging. Just some thoughts. Great unit though. It's obvious a lot of R&D went in to it. By the way, I don't care if it is a vegan; it's still cool to have a bone."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Rochester, NY
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Most Bang for your Buck
June 13, 2014
"We started using this product when our son was about 2 weeks old. He could get the music to play and the hanging toys were bright and interesting enough for him to look at. By 1 month old, he would use it every morning for play time. He would giggle and really get kicking. At 2 months, we're still using it every morning and now in the afternoon as well. As a stay at home mom looking to play and engage with my baby, this is a toy that worked for us right away and I'm looking forward to watching him grow with it! We definitely recommend it!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Texas
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: Baby on the way
Relationship to child: Mom
Fun for baby (and for you)
June 1, 2014
"My guy has put this piano kicker to the test. At first I thought I didn't like the product because it the toys hung down so far. But he just needed to grow into it and at 3.5 months really started to interact. He's 5 months now and yanks on the toys, kicks the arch and kicks that piano. It's still like new! And the washable mat is convenient since he's such a drooler these days."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Colorado
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Wonderful toy from Fisher-Price!
August 7, 2009
"After reading all of the reviews with issues regarding battery life and mechanical problems, I felt that I needed to add our positive review here. We purchased Spike for our 2 1/2 year old for Christmas '08, and have had nothing but positive experience with it. We are just having to recharge our battery pack for the first time (in August '09), and Spike has worked perfectly from the moment we put him together and continuously ever since. I am sad to hear that others have had problems with it working properly. It is a family favorite here...highly recommended! Way to go Fisher-Price for a great toy. (Our 6 year old girl enjoys it, as well.)"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Reston, VA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Spike - My Son's Best Christmas Gift!
February 9, 2009
"My 3-3/4 year old son got Spike for Christmas, and even though it was surrounded by many other presents and toys (including a Tribot and Wall-E) happily yelled "Spike!" from across the room and ran right to it, when he came down Christmas morning! Spike has held his attention ever since! Over the first few days, the first one we had developed a problem of conking out every few seconds until you gently touched it again, which seemed to be related to a motion/position sensor not working quite right? Customer support was very friendly and helpful, first sending a new battery pack (which did not fix the problem) and eventually (a month and a half later) a replacement Spike - which so far has worked perfectly! As a parent, I really apprechiated the "we'll get this fixed for you" attitude of Customer Service - despite the necessary delays in working through the process... My son loves the fact that he can operate the remote control very easily by himself (although sometimes he needs some help steering), the actions Spike can do, the cool sounds it makes, and the way he can chomp bolders and his bones! Spike is pretty big which is both a good and bad thing. It is good because Spike is awesome when he is running and holds my son's attention really well (Spike demands attention when he walks or roars), and bad because it takes a big room to have space for it and is difficult for my som to try carrying by himself (a built in handle in Spike's back would have been helpful), so needs some adult assistance to move from room to room in the house. Mechanically Spike is very robust and very capable of operating outside in dry weather! We often play with it outside, where Spike does very well on the driveway or front lawn with short grass - as long as his delicate balance isn't thrown off too much by uneven ground. My son has loved Spike ever since he first saw him, and especially now that Spike is working perfectly once again! Great play value!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:GA
Number of kids: 4
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Dad
worked OK for 2 days
November 30, 2008
"Started out as a great product. after second day, ultra started to tilt. it powers down to where the top four horns on the back light each time walking motors are used for 5 seconds. very repeatable. also controller "move", "stand up", "lower head" commands all make ultra move to the right. (left leg gets stuck? but no motor noise"). charger charges battery up to 11V but never turns to green light when it is done (even from day 1). I am a PE in elec. engineering. I will test if the motor current needed is more than the battery can deliver. don't know why commands are messed up though. you have to record digital IR commands for that."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Hudson, NC
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Aunt
He Dies
November 30, 2008
"I think the toy will be alright when the bugs are worked out of him.
Spike is to be a Christmas gift to our nephew, so we have three weeks to fix him.
He "dies" in the middle of play. The battery was charged overnight, new batteries in the remote, however in the middle of an activity he simply goes dead. Shake, bump, just tap him slightly and he lights up and continues normally, then goes dead again. He is not "asleep" as he was just in the middle of walking, roaring, lifting or any other command made on the remote. As per the instructions, we turned out all lights, this had no effect on the operation.
If Fisher Price or anyone else has a suggestion, we would be greatly thankful.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:VA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
New Purchase
November 8, 2008
"WE have just opened and put together Spike.
His mouth does not WORK at all. Battery is newly charged and everything else seem to work fine, but not the MOUTH.
Spike is to be given to my 5 year old grandson for Christmas.
Please help, hope we can get this handled before Christmas. Cannot recommend without it working properly
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Mouth busted already
October 31, 2008
"Purchased spike for my son's 3rd birthday. He was SO excited, he loved him. After one full day of play, the mouth does not work anymore. For the bucks, that is a feature that should be able to last longer than a day.
Anyone know how to fix it? Or just take it back?
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:MEDFORD, OR
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
AWESOME
September 16, 2008
"MY SON WHO IS 4 LOVES IT. HE CALLS IT HIS PET. VERY DURABLE. IT PRETTY HEAVY AND AKWARD IN SIZE FOR HIM TO PICK IT UP, SO HE DROPPED IT A FEW TIMES, AND IT STILL WORKS. I DID BUY THE EXTENDED WARRANTY WITH IT JUST IN CASE. OVERALL HOURS OF FUN. HE EATS CARS AND WHAT EVER ELSE MY SON PUTS IN FRON OF HIM. MY SON TOLD ME HE IS A VEGGIE EATER SO WHY DOES HE HAVE A BONE? LOL GO FIGURE. LEAVE IT TO A 4 YEAR OLD TO TELL FISHERPRICE THAT THIS A HERPIVORE NOT A CARNVIORE, AND WHY DOES HE HAVE SHARP TEETH AND SPIKES. LONG NECKS DONT HAVE SPIKES. STILL LOL."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Denver, CO
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great purchase
November 24, 2008
"I just recently purchased SPIKE for my 7 year old son. He loves playing with it, although he is only getting 2-3 hours of playtime with it. He is autistic and becomes highly upset when he can't play with something. I was wondering if my husband and I can purchase extra battery packs for SPIKE....Any info will be useful!
Thanks!!"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:L.A, CA
Number of kids: More than 4
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandfather
My WORST buy... EVER!
October 25, 2009
"I've purchased a lot of gifts in my day, BUT THIS ONE WAS THE WORST! I only bought it because it was a dinosaur, And my Grand Children LOVE dinosaurs, But not this one! It's loud, Ugly, and just plain ANNOYING! IT DOESN'T TEACH MANNERS- it destroys them! Don't EVER buy Spike, the dinosaur.
P.S. It costs 140! Cheap!"
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Ortonville, MI
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
Poor quality
December 23, 2009
"Ran out at 11:30 pm to get Spike. Put him together the night before Christmas Eve and he does not work correctly. The leg will not lock into place impairing his ability to walk.
I was skeptical on buying him due to the mixed reviews. This only confirms my skepticism-this is a very expensive toy to have it not work correctly. The day before Christmas and no toy for my Grandson."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Orchard Park, NY
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great Product
September 4, 2014
"My son who is 2 months old loves this product. It holds his attention very well. He loves sounds and the objects that hang."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:CR, IA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Wish they hadn't changed it...
March 27, 2014
"I bought this for my unborn daughter while I was pregnant. I absolutely love it! She has been playing with it regularly since she was 2 months old, and really started enjoying it at 3 months old. She loves the toys and mirror and the songs that play when she kicks the piano. Thankfully I bought mine right before FP changed it. I bought one for a friend of mine based on how much my daughter loves it. I noticed that the toys and piano are a little cheaper looking on the newer version. There are lights on my daughter's piano, the new one doesn't have any. My daughter's toys are all made of plastic, whereas the new ones are mostly made of fabric. Not sure why FP decided to make these changes, but I wish they hadn't. Overall this is still a great play mat."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:New Richmond, OH
Number of kids: 0
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Uncle
Good pet substitute
March 2, 2010
"I gave Spike for Christmas to one of my grandnephews. Afterwards he told me that this was exactly what he wanted. He still plays with Spike from time to time. It is awesome to watch him when Spike stands on his hind legs and roars. For little kids who cannot have a puppy or a kitten, Spike appears to be a good interim substitute."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Aunt
Adorable
February 7, 2010
"This dinosaur is adorable. He is very sturdy. Although the battery only lasts 5 minutes."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Colorado
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great!
February 3, 2010
"Our son wanted this very badly. He plays with it constantly. He is 3. It took him a while to figure out the controls, but the pictures really help. He can't get enough of it. There's nothing else like it that we can find. I highly recommend this. I'm worried about the duribility with 2 boys, but time will tell. He understands you can't force it now. The battery takes 4 hours to charge and he turned it off when he napped or ate and wasn't playing with it but it did die around 6pm. I wish it had a longer battery life."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Quakertown, PA
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Spike is fabulous
February 2, 2010
"Our 3.5 year old son received Spike for Christmas. He loves it, but his 18 month old brother loves it even more. Our 18 month old (is very strong!) picks up Spike and carries him all over and drags him by the neck when he wants him turned back on. Spike has been dropped several times and is a tough toy. We are very happy with Spike. He is fun for the whole family, he even keeps our 5 month old entertained when her brothers are playing with him. I highly recommend this toy."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Bartow, Florida
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great toy but outrageously priced.
January 20, 2010
"Great toy! My 2 year old son loved him in the store when he was in the display case. However when he opened him up Christmas and we put the batteries in he was scared of him. Would recommend for kids 5 and up. So we will hang onto Spike until he is not afraid of him. Us parents had a blast playing with him!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>