Product Reviews

Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™

This cool phone is packed full of learning opportunities, with fun sounds, phrases, and more than 10 sing-along songs and tunes! Nine colorful, light-up buttons are easy to press, rewarding baby with words, sounds and greetings. Baby can learn about ABC’s, numbers, shapes, colors, weather, and opposites, while getting a start on conversation skills and early role play. Requires 3 AAA batteries. Teaches: • Letters • Numbers • Shapes • Colors • Greetings and more!
3.039
3
(26 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
5
12 of 26(46%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Review 1 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Algonquin, Il
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
worst purchase
April 8, 2014
"the phone is a cute idea but the volume is so low my granddaughter will pick up and press the buttons and then throw down. the phone should have a volume control. I will think twice before buying another toy made by fisher price. very disappointed with this purchase. I would return but I threw away the packaging."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesApril 10, 2014
We're sorry to hear your disappointed with your Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™. Unfortunately, there is not a way to adjust the volume. All of our phones can be held up to the child's ear while playing and this requires the volume levels to meet certain standards to protect your child’s hearing. If you contact our Consumer Services team they would be happy to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 2 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Melbourne, Australia
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Dad
Ok product but...
January 5, 2014
"Our little 6mo girl received this phone for Christmas and while she does love grabbing it with both hands, pressing buttons on it and watching it light up, i have to agree with a lot of other people's comments that the volume is so low.
My first thought was to change the batteries but after that made no difference i googled the product and found that it's not a faulty product but is made that way.
If i knew this before opening the package then i would have certainly considered returning and swapping for another toy. You just can't hear it at all when there's other noise in the same room/house."
Review 3 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:INDIANAPOLIS, IN
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
A Hit in our House
November 23, 2013
"We like the low volume. I've seen others complain about it, but I don't think things need to be constantly screaming at our children. There is value in being a little more quiet and calm than the world around you, even for toddlers. Most toys are so loud it can be overwhelming for little ones. This provides an alternative that lets him think, learn to listen and be calm. The buttons are easy to play with too. There's no swiping -- which our son would like, but we prefer to limit that kind of behavior anyway. Is it a go-to toy for my son? I wouldn't go that far, but he'll sit and play with it for a good bit and more importantly he'll leave my phone alone for just a little while longer!"
Review 4 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
worst purchase ever
November 23, 2013
"The volume is way to soft. I live in the Caribbean and I spent $150.00 for this phone and it is so disappointing. I wish I could get my money back."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesNovember 25, 2013
We're sorry you're having a problem with our Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™. We recommend you contact our Consumer Services office closest to you for assistance. You can find all of our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08rV.
Review 5 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Nova Scotia, Canada
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
Very disappointed
April 16, 2013
"I bought a Smilin' Smart Phone for my grand daughter. The volume is too low. After changing the batteries,I went to your web site. I have read the reviews and read that many people changed the batteries but that didn't help. I read your answer as to why the volume is low. My grand daughter loves watching the lights but can't hear the music. I feel that it should be mentioned on the packaging that the volume is very low. I would not recommend this product and would return it if possible."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsApril 18, 2013
We’re sorry you’re disappointed with the Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™ you purchased. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 6 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Wisconsin
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Meh.
March 7, 2013
"My 7 month old LOVES playing with my smart phone, so I thought this would be great for her. She does love chewing it, pressing the buttons, and watching the flashing lights. However, the volume is so low on this! I can barely hear it, and I also thought the volume would be better once I changed the batteries. Nope! All the other Fisher-Price toys we have have a great volume or at least an adjustable volume, but not this. I would return it to the store, but I threw away the packaging already. Very disappointed, and I will tell the other moms in my online group not to purchase this toy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsMarch 11, 2013
We're sorry to hear your disappointed with your Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™. Unfortunately, there is not a way to adjust the volume. All of our phones can be held up to the child's ear while playing and this requires the volume levels to meet certain standards to protect your child’s hearing. If you have any further questions please contact our Consumer Relations team for assistance. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 7 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Illinois
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Fun Phone
January 9, 2013
"My twins love this, they fight over it all the time. I should have purchased two. The volume is not very loud though."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Verona, New Jersey
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
Not Happy!
November 20, 2012
"I bought this for my granddaughter and was extremely disappointed. Although she loved the buttons you could hardly hear the music. My husband thought it may be the batteries so we changed them but it did not help. I am returning this to the store."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsNovember 23, 2012
We’re sorry you’re having difficulty with your Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™. To provide you with the best service, we would like to speak with you personally. Please contact our Consumer Relations team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 9 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:New Zealand
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
Smilin' Smart Phone
September 19, 2012
"We bought this phone for my grandaughter as she is mad about phones. Unfortunately the volume was so low that we could barely hear it. We changed the batteries only to find the volume stayed the same. I'm not sure why fisher price on all the other musical and noisy toys I have purchased over thirty years for my children and now grandchildren, have not thought to put a volume control on this. Our wee one loves noise and flashing lights, music etc, and I love the fact that usually fisher price makes the sound adjustable. But why have they made the sound on this wee phone so hard to hear. She holds the phone close to her ear and throws it away after five minutes of being frustrated. She can't hear the words very well and all that is helping is the lights. I am very very disappointed as I have found fisher price to be always good quality and good value for money. But this toy was a waste, after only a week, she doesn't play with it anymore."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsSeptember 21, 2012
Unfortnately there is not a way to adjust the volume on your Laugh & Learn™ Smilin' Smart Phone.™ All of our phones could be held up to a child’s ear while playing. This requires the volume levels meet certain standards to protect your child’s hearing.
Review 10 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:kentucky
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Very low noise!!!
April 19, 2012
"I bought this phone for my son for christmas, he does like it, but it is very hard to hear the songs playing. However, it does light up very nicely, and the buttons are very easy for him to push."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsApril 23, 2012
Our design and engineering teams put a lot of thought and energy into creating engaging toys, so we are sorry that you are disappointed with this toy. We work hard to exceed consumer expectations, and we thank you for sharing your opinions with us.
Review 11 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Kent, Ohio
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
To quiet
February 22, 2012
"I know I sound crazy but the phone is really hard to hear unless it's really quiet. My son loves the flashing lights but always looks up at me when he makes it sing. It is a cute toy though."
Review 12 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Houston, Tx
Number of kids: 4
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great for older babies
February 9, 2012
"My daughter is 15 months old and loves my I Phone but I dont like her to touch it. So we went to the store and bought her this phone. She loves it. She calls it La La because it playes music. When she asks for my phone I tell her to go get hers and she goes right for it and we will play and sing the songs together. I think for people whose baby did not enjoy the toy, it was probably too big for their child's hand. But my 15 month old has no trouble holding the phone. When we first got it we looked for a volume button because the sound was so low but I see now that the low volume is a good thing. When you hold it up to your ear like you would be talking it is the perfect volume, and will not blow your childs ear out. The buttons are easy for her to push and when you choose an individual button, even though there is a clear screen protector over the whole key pad, it still selects the right "app". I would definately recommend this product to a friend with a baby that loves your I Phone!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:PA
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
No Way!
January 20, 2012
"I was so disappointed with this toy. We bought it for our 7 month old at Christmas. Had it shipped from a major chain store along with a bunch of other things. In the haste of the holiday, the package was thrown it. Very unfortunate for us as this product would have went back!!! It is bulkier than expected but has a modern, fun design. Our daughter seemed to really like it. BUT the static noise was much louder than the fun noises we were supposed to hear. Thinking it just needed a battery replacement...WRONG!!! Still major static noise! It is horrible and annoying! How disappointing when our baby loves phones!! Poor quality, would not recommend. Not what I would have expected as we love Fisher Price!"
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJanuary 24, 2012
We are sorry for your disappointment with this product. Our Consumer Relations team may be able to help! Please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
Review 14 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Terre Haute, In
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
January 19, 2012
"I was very excited to get this for my 91/2 month old daughter because she is very interested in my phone, after purchasing it I was very disappointed with the toy. It is pretty bulky I thought it would be flat the big bulky back is very cleverly hidden by the packaging, and it is very hard to hear I am all for toys that are not so loud they entertain everyone but it would be nice to actually hear the toy without pressing it against your ear to see if its working!
I also thought you would be able to press the different buttons for a different function and the big cover makes it so no matter what button is pushed it will activate the sounds and lights.
I usually am a happy customer with fisher-price toys
but sadly this is a miss!!
"
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJanuary 24, 2012
Our design and engineering teams put a lot of thought and energy into creating engaging toys, so we are sorry that you are disappointed with this toy. We work hard to exceed consumer expectations, and we thank you for sharing your opinions with us.
Review 15 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Elk Grove Village, IL
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Way too quiet and bulky!
January 2, 2012
"My husband and I thought this phone would be perfect for our 7 month old son, since he is very into our phones. We did not realize that the phone is WAY more bulkier than it looks in the package, it is too big for our babys little hands. It also does NOT hold his attention at all because it is nearly impossible for him to hear it. If we would have known this, we would have never bought it for him. The phone looks cute, but was not worth it."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJanuary 6, 2012
Our design and engineering teams put a lot of thought and energy into creating engaging toys, so we are sorry that you are disappointed with this toy. We work hard to exceed consumer expectations, and we thank you for sharing your opinions with us.
Review 16 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Washington
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Not for all infants
November 30, 2011
"I bought this for my 7 month old and he played with it for a few minutes but became bored of it really soon. The phone's screen is just one giant button and there is another button under and that's about it. The sound is not as low as some people have stated but it is low which in my opinion is a good thing because I hate annoyingly loud toys.
My friend's 18 month old daughter loved the phone because she understands that it is a phone and she pretends to be talking on the phone like adults do. For her the phone is fun and she won't set it down but for my son it was not so.
The phone is big and durable and easy to wipe clean so I guess I would recommend it to people with an older baby who don't like those other annoying phones out there that are super complicated. This is a simple phone with a lower volume.
"
Review 17 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Hilliard, OH
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
Great toy
November 25, 2011
"I bought this Smart Phone for my granddaughter for Christmas but we were going to go on a week long trip including flying from Ohio to California, so I gave it to her before we left. This was the best calming toy for her, she is 9&1/2 months old and when she got restless we gave it to her. It worked wonders. What is especially nice is that the volume is low and makes the baby quite so she can hear it and it isn't annoying to anyone around. So on the plane we could let her play with it and it didn't disturb anyone. I love it if she lost it I would rebuy it. Thanks for such a great toy."
Review 18 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:california
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
volume very low
November 16, 2011
"Cute but volume is very low cannot be heard unless held very close to the ear. It does not get my sons attention due to the volume. Very disappointing."
Response from Fisher-Price:By crNovember 30, 2011
Our design and engineering teams put a lot of thought and energy into creating engaging toys, so we are sorry that you are disappointed with your Smilin Smart Phone™. We work hard to exceed consumer expectations, and we thank you for sharing your opinions with us.
Review 19 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Number of kids: 4
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Perfect 1st birthday gift
November 13, 2011
"My son received this as a 1st birthday gift and he has not put it down. It lights up, sings songs and has held up being tossed around by a 1 year old. I find that it is the perfect volume for little ears. My son puts it up to his ear like a phone. I also appreciate that it is not obnoxiously loud and annoying like some children's toys. This was worth the money and is one of my 1 year old's favorite toys. I would recommend to a friend and give as a gift."
Review 20 for Laugh & Learn™ Smilin’ Smart Phone™
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:fla
Number of kids: More than 4
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
dissapointeted
November 5, 2011
"volume is so low that it does not achive desired effect.
i want my money back!
"
Response from Fisher-Price:By CRNovember 10, 2011
We're sorry you are dissapointed in your Smilin Smart Phone. Our Consumer Relations team may be able to assist you -- please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
Response from Fisher-Price:By CRNovember 10, 2011
We're sorry you are dissapointed in your Smilin Smart Phone. Our Consumer Relations team may be able to assist you -- please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
1 2 next>>