Product Reviews

Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale

Rub-a-dub-dub—there’s a whale in the tub! Splishin’, splashin’ and sprayin’ all around baby’s bath, he moves as his spout lights up. Baby will love the water-spraying action and have fun with a fishy flutterball that floats!
1.209
1.2
(67 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
63
3 of 67(4%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Review 1 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:vassar,mi
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
really disappointed
October 16, 2014
"i bought this for my grandson it worked once he loved it then the next time we tried to use it it lite up but no spray came out very disappointed he did not want it no more.. you really need to take this off the shelf with all these bad reviews."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesOctober 21, 2014
We're sorry you're having an issue with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our team they will be happy to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find all of our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 2 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Doesn't Work
September 14, 2014
"As other reviewers have stated-- it doesn't work. The lights come on, but no water comes out, even after trying three different sets of brand new batteries."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer Services TeamSeptember 17, 2014
We're sorry you're having some trouble with our Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale toy. If you contact our team they will be happy to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find all of our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 3 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Chicago
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Very disappointed
June 17, 2014
"We bought this as a gift for my son for Easter. We just took it out of the package because he is now old enough to play with it in the tub, and it doesn't work. It light up, but doesn't spray water. We can't take it back for a refund now Very disappointed in this toy."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesJune 19, 2014
We’re sorry you’re having trouble with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our Consumer Services team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 4 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Colorado
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Not happy
May 22, 2014
"We purchased this toy for our daughter a couple months back. It worked fine for a bit and then it stopped. My husband went to change the batteries in it and found it completely rusted. It's a bath toy, shouldn't it be some what rust proof?
We won't be getting anything of this nature in the future."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesMay 27, 2014
We’re sorry to hear about your experience with the Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale . If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 5 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Kentucky
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great... at first.
May 7, 2014
"Same as other reviews. This product was very fun for a few bathtimes, then quit working. Simply flashes without any spray at all now. So disappointing, my son loved it!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesMay 8, 2014
We’re sorry you’re having trouble with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our Consumer Services team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 6 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Bath time just got better!
February 1, 2014
"I originally saw this toy in store and was delighted to find a new bath toy. So I purchased as a Christmas gift. When I got home I was a little skeptical after reading all the negative reviews. But decided if it wasn't working I would just return it.
I'm so glad I gave it a try because my 16mo old daughter LOVES it!!!!! It lit up, sprayed a nice flow of water, and swam around without toppling over! I also made sure the seal was correctly in place and the lid was secured tightly to ensure there wasn't leakage into the battery compartment.
I highly recommend this toy, it has brought many laughs and giggles to all of us. It's not supposed to be this elaborate bath toy and it does exactly what it's supposed to, so if yours malfunctions (noisy, leaks, doesn't stay balanced or swim) I recommend an exchange for another one that will function better.
I love it as does my daughter and highly recommend this fun little toy!"
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Princeton, NJ
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Disappointed from the start
January 6, 2014
"We received this from my Aunt for my daughter for Christmas and thought it would be great since she loves the bath. First use it didn't spray and seemed very wobbly. We had already gotten rid of the box so I came on here because it was supposed to spray and it never did. Once I came to the FP website I became even more discouraged to see that it is supposed to spray and didn't do this right out of the box as well as all the other disappointed reviews. This product is defective and should be removed from their line or it should be reworked that it actually works properly. FP is normally such a great company and we have been very happy with most of our products."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesJanuary 9, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your experience with our Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. The best thing to do is contact our Consumer Services team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon. - Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 8 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
This toy should be taken off the market!!!
January 3, 2014
"My son loves tub toys so we bought the whale for his 2nd birthday. We used it as directed and my son loved it, despite the fact that it doesn't work as advertised on the box. It does not push the ball up. It does not push out enough water to do that. A month and a half later it stopped working. This toy is a disappointment to the child and a waste of money. After reading the other reviews I think this should be taken off the market."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesJanuary 6, 2014
We’re sorry you’re having an issue with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5
Review 9 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Dad
Terrible Product
January 2, 2014
"We purchased this for our child for Christmas. He loves the water and loves to play in the tub each night during his bath. It looked like fun and if it would work as advertised I'm sure it would be for him, however it hasn't worked right out of the box. The spout lights up and the pump runs but water just trickles out of the spout, if you put the ball on top of the spout the whale tips over, it doesn't float well at all and my child could really care less about this which is disapointing. It appears that this seems to be a common problem with this toy. Fisher Price might want to step up quality control!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesJanuary 6, 2014
We’re sorry you’re having trouble with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5
Review 10 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Don't Bother
January 2, 2014
"Worked great at first, except that it scared my 11 mo old to death-- and he isn't scared of anything! Decided to put it aside for a month and when we went to try it again, it only blinked its light. Never worked again beyond that. Not impressed."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
broke within a month
November 12, 2013
"I brought one thinking it would be fun for my toddler and he loved it...a few weeks of playing with it it stopped working and i thought it was the battery that died but when i opened it up the batterys were soaked as the seal doesn't do a good job sealing. Thinking this was just the one that didn't seal i bought another one......2 weeks later the spray stops working but the lights still work. My toddler isn't dropping it or playing hard with it. Not worth the money."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesNovember 14, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having an issue with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5
Review 12 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Atlanta,Ga
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great bath toy
October 22, 2013
"We love this whale and my son does too. He got it at about 12 months and at 18 month he is still interested in it and loves pushing the spout to start and stop the water and lights. Very cute, I recommend."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Dad
worst buy ever
September 28, 2013
"The whale with brand new batteries only fills up with water and rolls over. I hoped it would spray and drive around in order for my son to like it. Instead he watched it flop over, the only thing that works is the light. Poor pump, wouldn't spray at all."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsSeptember 30, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having an issue with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5
Review 14 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Alabama
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Very disappointing
September 21, 2013
"I purchased this for my 8 month old son and when I put the whale in the water if topples over.
1. it doesn't float well
2. I had to change the batteries I put in less than 2 weeks after buying and never worked again.
I wouldn't recommend this toy.
:-(
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsSeptember 23, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having an issue with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5
Review 15 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:MN
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
battery change
April 6, 2013
"I bought this for my son as he loves to play in the bath and it looked like a fun toy. It worked great until the first time that I had to change the batteries. Then it never worked again. Too bad because my son really liked it when it worked."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsApril 8, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having an issue with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 16 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:North Dakota
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Awful
April 3, 2013
"I bought this toy for my 14 month old son for his Easter basket. It does not mimic the picture or description at all. It barely floats in the water, in fact, only the top inch or so is above the water. The spray that comes out of the top is nice, when it works. With fresh batteries, it will occasionaly stop spraying after only a few seconds. Also, it will not hold the ball as indicated on the packaging. In fact, if the ball is put anywhere on the whale, the whale tips over. The only part of this toy that my son was interested in was the ball.
I wish I had read these reviews prior to my purchase. I will think twice before purchasing anythng from Fischer Price again."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsApril 5, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having an issue with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale . If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 17 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Waste of $15
April 1, 2013
"We bought this product for our son because the description on the package made the product sound really fun. It said the whale floated and that the stream of water would support the included ball. The picture showed a thick stream of water shooting out of its blow hole, when in reality it barely even sprays water, and certainly won't hold up the ball. The whale floats, but barely and constantly turns over to the side. Our son still mildly enjoyed the toy, but we were extremely disappointed with the purchase."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsApril 2, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having difficulty with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale . If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 18 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Auckland, NZ
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Disappointing Purchase
February 7, 2013
"I bought this for my toddler for Christmas. We installed new batteries as it came with none. After a month, it stopped spraying water so I opened it up assuming it needed new batteries already. There was black water in the battery compartment. Water had managed to leak through and has caused damage. I am unable to return this to the place of purchase as I no longer have the receipt."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsFebruary 11, 2013
We’re sorry you're having trouble with you Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 19 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:alabama
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Mom
worst purchase
December 29, 2012
"i bought this for my 11 year old daughter who has cerebal palsey there are not many toys she can play with because of her dissabilitys but she loves to play in the bath so when i saw this i was so excited for her and the excitement quickly went away when i placed it in the tub and all it did was light up and sink...what a huge dissapointment i know if my daughter could talk she would ask why i bought her a piece of junk.....so very dissapointed"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 31, 2012
We’re sorry you've had such a disappointing experience with the Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale you purchased. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 20 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Dont buy this product
December 19, 2012
"Bought this product and big dissapointment, within weeks of use doesnt work anymore. My kids loved it, its a great toy only if it worked!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 21, 2012
We’re sorry you’re having difficulty with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. To provide you with the best service, we would like to speak with you personally. Please contact our Consumer Relations team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
1 2 3 4 next>>