Product Reviews

Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale

Rub-a-dub-dub—there’s a whale in the tub! Splishin’, splashin’ and sprayin’ all around baby’s bath, he moves as his spout lights up. Baby will love the water-spraying action and have fun with a fishy flutterball that floats!
1.226
1.2
(62 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
58
3 of 62(5%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Review 1 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Bath time just got better!
February 1, 2014
"I originally saw this toy in store and was delighted to find a new bath toy. So I purchased as a Christmas gift. When I got home I was a little skeptical after reading all the negative reviews. But decided if it wasn't working I would just return it.
I'm so glad I gave it a try because my 16mo old daughter LOVES it!!!!! It lit up, sprayed a nice flow of water, and swam around without toppling over! I also made sure the seal was correctly in place and the lid was secured tightly to ensure there wasn't leakage into the battery compartment.
I highly recommend this toy, it has brought many laughs and giggles to all of us. It's not supposed to be this elaborate bath toy and it does exactly what it's supposed to, so if yours malfunctions (noisy, leaks, doesn't stay balanced or swim) I recommend an exchange for another one that will function better.
I love it as does my daughter and highly recommend this fun little toy!"
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Princeton, NJ
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Disappointed from the start
January 6, 2014
"We received this from my Aunt for my daughter for Christmas and thought it would be great since she loves the bath. First use it didn't spray and seemed very wobbly. We had already gotten rid of the box so I came on here because it was supposed to spray and it never did. Once I came to the FP website I became even more discouraged to see that it is supposed to spray and didn't do this right out of the box as well as all the other disappointed reviews. This product is defective and should be removed from their line or it should be reworked that it actually works properly. FP is normally such a great company and we have been very happy with most of our products."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesJanuary 9, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your experience with our Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. The best thing to do is contact our Consumer Services team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon. - Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 3 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
This toy should be taken off the market!!!
January 3, 2014
"My son loves tub toys so we bought the whale for his 2nd birthday. We used it as directed and my son loved it, despite the fact that it doesn't work as advertised on the box. It does not push the ball up. It does not push out enough water to do that. A month and a half later it stopped working. This toy is a disappointment to the child and a waste of money. After reading the other reviews I think this should be taken off the market."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesJanuary 6, 2014
We’re sorry you’re having an issue with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5
Review 4 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Dad
Terrible Product
January 2, 2014
"We purchased this for our child for Christmas. He loves the water and loves to play in the tub each night during his bath. It looked like fun and if it would work as advertised I'm sure it would be for him, however it hasn't worked right out of the box. The spout lights up and the pump runs but water just trickles out of the spout, if you put the ball on top of the spout the whale tips over, it doesn't float well at all and my child could really care less about this which is disapointing. It appears that this seems to be a common problem with this toy. Fisher Price might want to step up quality control!"
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesJanuary 6, 2014
We’re sorry you’re having trouble with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5
Review 5 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Don't Bother
January 2, 2014
"Worked great at first, except that it scared my 11 mo old to death-- and he isn't scared of anything! Decided to put it aside for a month and when we went to try it again, it only blinked its light. Never worked again beyond that. Not impressed."
Review 6 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
broke within a month
November 12, 2013
"I brought one thinking it would be fun for my toddler and he loved it...a few weeks of playing with it it stopped working and i thought it was the battery that died but when i opened it up the batterys were soaked as the seal doesn't do a good job sealing. Thinking this was just the one that didn't seal i bought another one......2 weeks later the spray stops working but the lights still work. My toddler isn't dropping it or playing hard with it. Not worth the money."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesNovember 14, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having an issue with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5
Review 7 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Atlanta,Ga
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great bath toy
October 22, 2013
"We love this whale and my son does too. He got it at about 12 months and at 18 month he is still interested in it and loves pushing the spout to start and stop the water and lights. Very cute, I recommend."
Review 8 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Dad
worst buy ever
September 28, 2013
"The whale with brand new batteries only fills up with water and rolls over. I hoped it would spray and drive around in order for my son to like it. Instead he watched it flop over, the only thing that works is the light. Poor pump, wouldn't spray at all."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsSeptember 30, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having an issue with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5
Review 9 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Alabama
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Very disappointing
September 21, 2013
"I purchased this for my 8 month old son and when I put the whale in the water if topples over.
1. it doesn't float well
2. I had to change the batteries I put in less than 2 weeks after buying and never worked again.
I wouldn't recommend this toy.
:-(
"
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsSeptember 23, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having an issue with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5
Review 10 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:MN
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
battery change
April 6, 2013
"I bought this for my son as he loves to play in the bath and it looked like a fun toy. It worked great until the first time that I had to change the batteries. Then it never worked again. Too bad because my son really liked it when it worked."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsApril 8, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having an issue with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 11 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:North Dakota
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Awful
April 3, 2013
"I bought this toy for my 14 month old son for his Easter basket. It does not mimic the picture or description at all. It barely floats in the water, in fact, only the top inch or so is above the water. The spray that comes out of the top is nice, when it works. With fresh batteries, it will occasionaly stop spraying after only a few seconds. Also, it will not hold the ball as indicated on the packaging. In fact, if the ball is put anywhere on the whale, the whale tips over. The only part of this toy that my son was interested in was the ball.
I wish I had read these reviews prior to my purchase. I will think twice before purchasing anythng from Fischer Price again."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsApril 5, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having an issue with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale . If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 12 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Waste of $15
April 1, 2013
"We bought this product for our son because the description on the package made the product sound really fun. It said the whale floated and that the stream of water would support the included ball. The picture showed a thick stream of water shooting out of its blow hole, when in reality it barely even sprays water, and certainly won't hold up the ball. The whale floats, but barely and constantly turns over to the side. Our son still mildly enjoyed the toy, but we were extremely disappointed with the purchase."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsApril 2, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having difficulty with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale . If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 13 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Auckland, NZ
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Disappointing Purchase
February 7, 2013
"I bought this for my toddler for Christmas. We installed new batteries as it came with none. After a month, it stopped spraying water so I opened it up assuming it needed new batteries already. There was black water in the battery compartment. Water had managed to leak through and has caused damage. I am unable to return this to the place of purchase as I no longer have the receipt."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsFebruary 11, 2013
We’re sorry you're having trouble with you Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 14 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:alabama
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Mom
worst purchase
December 29, 2012
"i bought this for my 11 year old daughter who has cerebal palsey there are not many toys she can play with because of her dissabilitys but she loves to play in the bath so when i saw this i was so excited for her and the excitement quickly went away when i placed it in the tub and all it did was light up and sink...what a huge dissapointment i know if my daughter could talk she would ask why i bought her a piece of junk.....so very dissapointed"
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 31, 2012
We’re sorry you've had such a disappointing experience with the Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale you purchased. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 15 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Dont buy this product
December 19, 2012
"Bought this product and big dissapointment, within weeks of use doesnt work anymore. My kids loved it, its a great toy only if it worked!"
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 21, 2012
We’re sorry you’re having difficulty with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. To provide you with the best service, we would like to speak with you personally. Please contact our Consumer Relations team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 16 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Marysville, Ohio
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Does not work
November 27, 2012
"Does not work directly out of package. Purchased item, placed batteries and put directly in tub. All the item does is light up, does not spray or hold my child attention as it sinks into the water and can barley be seen."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsNovember 29, 2012
We’re sorry you’re having difficulty with your Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale. To provide you with the best service, we would like to speak with you personally. Please contact our Consumer Relations team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 17 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Alberta, Canada
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Never worked
October 5, 2012
"We bought this for our one year old son on his birthday a few months ago. We put it in the bath the first night, and it worked for 3 seconds, then died. We tried changing the batteries a few times, and it never helped. From the reviews it is obvious that nobody is happy with this product, and we are all extremely disappointed, not to mention the disappointment of the children involved! Imagine, getting a new toy, putting it in the bath water (where the kids can see it) and discovering it doesn't work! It doesn't even deserve one star!"
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsOctober 8, 2012
We're so sorry that you're having trouble with your whale. Our Consumer Relations team may be able to help. Please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
Review 18 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Abington, MA
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
So very disappointed.
June 6, 2012
"I have been coveting this toy since before my son was born. I finally went out and purchased it with a gift card given to him for his Birthday. I wish I had read the reviews! I was so excited to take this toy out of the box and try it out---after it took me forever to get the battery compartment open. We tried out the whale in the kitchen sink and it was awesome! Since then it only turns on in the middle of the night and we have to race around to shut it off. I took the batteries out and replaced them and hoped it would work again but no luck. I guess I'll just wait until it turns on again in the middle of the night. So disappointed. I'm hoping to return it and hope the next one will work."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJune 8, 2012
We're so sorry that you're having trouble with your Spray 'n Lights Bath Whale. Our Consumer Relations team may be able to help! Please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
Review 19 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Unhappy Bather
May 26, 2012
"The whale was given to my daughter as a gift. The first time playing with the whale, it would list to the left as it floated in the water, but the spout worked. It would spray out water when we touched it. The third night of bathing, we could not get the spout to work, although it still listed to the left. We tired changing the batteries, thinking that they might not have been working. However, that did not work. This toy was truly a disappointment to both my daughter and I. It was difficult to tell the gift giver, when she asked how we liked the whale, that it did not work."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsMay 29, 2012
We're so sorry that you're having trouble with your whale. Our Consumer Relations team may be able to help! Please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
Review 20 for Brilliant Basics™ Spray ’n Lights Bath Whale
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Mebane, NC
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Very Disappointing!
May 12, 2012
"I bought this gift for my five month old daughter as part of her Easter gift. We just got around to using it this weekend as she is now starting to enjoy baths and be more active. After installing the batteries - nothing happened! I read the instruction manual and still is not working. For a toy that I thought would be wonderful, I am extremely disappointed! What a waste of money!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsMay 14, 2012
We're so sorry that you're having trouble with your whale. Our Consumer Relations team may be able to help! Please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
1 2 3 4 next>>