Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)

Rugged tires and Power Wheels® Monster Traction drive system powers Dune Racer over ruts, wet grass, gravel, mud and more! Sturdy steel frame with flashy chrome accents and a cool open cockpit design is roomy enough for two riders, with a secret storage compartment under the hood for role play fun. 12-volts of battery power drives two speeds forward (2.5 & 5 mph max.), plus reverse, on hard surfaces, grass and rough terrain with high speed lock-out option for beginners and Power Lock® brakes. Due to its large size this item cannot be gift-wrapped, shipped by USPS or rush delivery, and is not available to APO/FPO, P.O. Boxes, U.S. Territories, Puerto Rico, Hawaii, Alaska, or Canada. Surcharge for standard delivery. Please add $35 to the applicable standard shipping rate.
4.158
4.2
(19 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Review 1 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:new york
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
best purchase ever
August 10, 2014
"We purchased the power wheels dune racer for my grandson, age 2 1/2. He loves driving it so much that we purchased an additional 12 volt battery so he could ride all day! This is a fabulous product!! I would give it 10 stars!! It:s worth every penny!"
Review 2 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Akron, Ohio
Number of kids: 4
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
good product so far
December 25, 2013
"it has been a lot of fun for the kids so far. i think it should have seat belts and dont let your kid back into anything or they will smash the door to the battery box making it really hard to get into."
Review 3 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Idaho
Number of kids: More than 4
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
could be amazing
October 23, 2013
"My only concern with this toy was the fact that it was advertised to have seat belts but did not come with any???"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsOctober 25, 2013
We have recently made some design changes to some of our Power Wheels® vehicles and have chosen to remove the seat belts from select models. These changes are not reflected in our packaging or instructions yet. The adjustable seat belts were designed to be a play feature and do not function as protective safety restraints. We apologize for any disappointment this may cause and we will forward along your comments to our design teams.
Review 4 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Santa Monica,Ca
Number of kids: 0
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Uncle
Slow ???
October 16, 2013
"I just purchased the Dune Racer for my Nephew this past weekend. I assembled it in about an hour, the only little problems that I saw with the instructions were that it was wrong as to the placement of the green triangle stickers that go on each side of the buggy. Sticker numbers 14-17. I was also curious as to why mine did not come with seat belts? I can see on the seat where the holes should be, they were not cut out, and there were no belts included . I also charged the battery for the required 18 hours, but it barely had enough power to move my 3 year old Nephew around the yard. The yard was flat and the grass was very short, I just think that even in low gear it should have a little more power that in did ? It is supposed to be able to carry two kids the size of my Nephew. We ran it for a while to try and discharge the battery and then recharged it overnight, but it was not any more powerful the next day. I think we might have a bad battery ? I do like the looks of it, and I also like the fact that it has a full steel frame, so I think it will last for a long time."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsOctober 17, 2013
We're sorry you're having an issue with your Power Wheels® Dune Racer. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 5 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:bellaire,oh
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
good perchase
September 23, 2013
"my son loves this vehicle but the tires already wor out like to know how to get new ones and he already wore out a gear in the wheel houseing i would like to know how i can replace parts"
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsSeptember 24, 2013
The best thing to do is contact our Consumer Relations team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon. - Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 6 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Spartanburg, SC
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Amazing Little Buggy!!!
September 7, 2013
"My wife and I got this for our 2 year old boy for Christmas, after a LOT of research. I work with iindustrial robotics and automation for a living, and as a result, difficult to impress.
Let me simply say WOW! This thing was designed right! Quality details include a steel tube frame, battery compartment (and weight) centered toward the back, dual motor drive, solid interlocking chassis (considering its plastic), great off-road traction, impressive power, VERY good battery life, and two very good speeds (WALK and JOG).
My boy is now 2 and a half, and finally enjoying it a bunch. (Two years old was a bit young.) I recentlyadded a circuit for LED headlights and tail/brake lights to my son's so he can also drive it at night.
Big thing, maintain the battery!!! Keep it charged, but don't leave it on the charger more than a day.
You and your kids will LOVE this buggy!
"
Review 7 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Product question
August 2, 2013
"This is not really a review, but a question I am hoping FP staff can answer: what is the maximum size of a child to comfortably ride this? I saw the 130lb weight limit, but I am wondering more about height. Thanks."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsAugust 5, 2013
The Power Wheels® Dune Racer has a good amount of leg room, but unfortunately we are unable to provide specific height dimensions.
Review 8 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:nc
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
not for off hard ground
June 17, 2013
"I bought it for my 4 year old son for Christmas. It does good on flat ground but when it gets in a little bit of tall grass or in a bind it cuts off. Then he has to wait for about 2 min or you have to unplug the battery and plug it back in before he goes and it does it again. So if you have a place with a little bit of rough terrain or tall grass save your money."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJune 19, 2013
We're sorry you're having an issue with your Power Wheels® Dune Racer. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 9 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Ohio
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
AMAZING!!!!
May 14, 2013
"We purchased this dune buggy for our 3yr olds birthday with a little hesitation whether it would go good on our hilly 5 aches! Oh boy- we're we surprised! It makes it up some pretty steep hills (slows down and prob drains the battery, but not once has he not made it up). Not to mention it goes great through mud and over rocks! But what can I say, this 3 year old has no fear! Over all its was a great buy and it will last until he's five and moves up to a gas powered toy."
Review 10 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:alabama
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
too slow
March 15, 2013
"When we purchased this item we had to put it together. My son already had one ride on vehicle and asked for another identical to the one he had. I did not want him to have two of the same kind and I liked the looks of this one and based on the age and weight restrictions I thought this one would last longer. My son is almost 4. After assembling we noticed it went 1/2 the speed of the one my son already had. As you can imagine he lost interest fast. Had this been his first ride on he would have enjoyed it more. My husband took it back apart thinking maybe he assembled it incorrectly or that a stronger battery would make it faster. It no longer works at all. At most we got 1/2 hour usage out of it. If this is your child's first ride on and you want to make sure they cannot go faster than you an walk then I highly recommend this product. If your child is already accustomed to a faster ride on then this would be a downgrade. On another note the seat does not adjust."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsMarch 19, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having difficulty with your Power Wheels® Dune Racer. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 11 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Melbourne, Australia
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Dad
Great gift for 5yo & 2yo boys
December 27, 2012
"The Dune Racer has just been released in Australia and I purchased it for my boys for Christmas. I also got the extra battery and was concerned after three days of driving that I wouldn't need it but it was good to have when it eventually died.
This car is awesome. My 2yo son has shown some excellent driving skills for his age. We are headed to the beach next week and are looking forward to getting it on the sand for some beach cruising!
I recommend this to anyone with boys!"
Review 12 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Priceville, AL
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Aunt
Dune Racer is Awesome
December 25, 2012
"This is the best gift we have ever given. My greatnephews are 5 & 2. We got this for them when the come over to our home. We have a large 1 acre + back yard for them to ride around it has grass, gravel, and leaves. The 5 year old came over today and opened their gift. He couldn't wait to ride even though it was raining. I knew the back yard would be mush with soft grass and wet leaves. This car powered thru all those issues. He was just elated with joy. Thanks for making such a great product!!!"
Review 13 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
My Kid's dream toy
May 30, 2012
"I got this racer for my kid when he was 3. He is 9 now and still loves it.
Best Buy for boys with some space to drive this beauty..."
Review 14 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Illinois (outside St. Louis, MO)
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
March 22, 2012
"My 4 year old loves the Dune Racer. I just recommend you let your child ride on the grass not on concrete. This toy is not quite a year old and two days ago we found a puncture in the left back tire from wear of the concrete. Other than that, it provides alot of fun for my son."
Review 15 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Idaho
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Mom
Was a Demo
March 8, 2012
"We bought this for our 4 year old for x-mass..and finally the weather is so far great for her to ride around in the back yard. She is now 5 and loves it we even had it go thru snow, mud, and frozen grass.(not a lot of snow or huge mud holes) come on not like a real car;).well it took a little battery life, we found out we had it on the low gear. Know she is on the high level and enjoys it..This little thing is fun I even got in it to try it out of course."
Review 16 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Olathe, KS
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Great entertainment
January 30, 2012
"We got this for my 4yr old son for his birthday. He absolutly loves it. Has been used almost every day for 6 months. Everything works perfectly still, except we live in a culdisac so he drives it on the street a lot and the rear tires have worn down to were the lugs are starting to seperate. He still loves it we will get new wheels not disapointed in our purchase. Would recomend it to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Searcy Arkansas
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
okay...but....
July 19, 2011
"Our 6 six old grand daughter loved it, she drove it most of the day on Saturday, started driving it Sunday, was transporting her sand from one spot to the other, as children do, and the sand got in the gear selector, it would only go in reverse, we took it apart the best we could and got all the sand out but it would sometimes go into forward and sometimes would not, if you are going to use it where there is no sand, then it is great, but for a dune racer with sand involved, dont buy it, but when i called fisher price, they gladly gave me my money back after I sent in the power cord that attaches to the battery inside the vehicle to provide power"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Power Wheels TeamOctober 2, 2012
Whoops! The Dune Racer drives great on sand, but it’s not designed like a dump truck with a place for transporting sand. As you found out, sand can be tough on inner components. We’re really sorry your granddaughter had a disappointing experience with this product, but we’re glad we could make it up to you.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall RatingRating 
4.5 5
4.5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2