Product Reviews

Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)

Designed for outdoor use, this off-road vehicle features a Monster Traction™ drive system that enables it to go on hard surfaces, wet grass, and rough terrain. Its sturdy steel frame with flashy chrome accents boasts an open cockpit design that is roomy enough to handle two riders. And with two forward drive speeds, one reverse speed, and a 12-volt rechargeable battery, the Dune Racer offers hours of fun. Features • Monster Traction™ system drives on hard surfaces, wet grass, and rough terrain • Drives 2.5 and 5 mph forward and 2.5 mph in reverse • Metal sidebars for hand support • Power-Lock® Brake System • Sturdy steel frame provides durability and safety • Includes 12-volt battery and charger • Seats 2 • Max. 130 lb (59 kg)
3.8
3.8
(25 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
19 of 25(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Review 1 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Indiana
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Busted tires and a broken heart
August 21, 2015
" My husband and I purchased this for our son's 4th birthday in May this year. He was over the moon and in it constantly. He's driven it everywhere. We live in the country, so he's been on grass, dirt, mud, and our gravel driveway. Now three months later the back tires are shot. Both have spots where you can actually see inside the tire. I'm so disappointed, but even worse was the look on my son's face when he realized there was a problem with his "buggy". While he's loved every minute he's driven it, I can honestly say for the three months of use my son got out of it, the price was not worth it. "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesAugust 24, 2015
We're very sorry to hear your Power Wheels Dune Racer is having issues. We'd like to help get this fixed! We would ask that you please contact our Consumer Services team for assistance. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find all of our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5
Review 2 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Dad
Breaking down too soon
May 15, 2015
" The Dune Racer was purchased in Jan 2014 for my son's 5th birthday. Having had other used Power Wheels products that seem to last forever, buying this seemed like a good investment. However, after only 15 months, the Dune Buggy is breaking down. We live in the PA where the past winter was pretty rough - so its not like the Dune Buggy has been getting 15 months of continuous work either!
Where to start, the driver side back wheel is worn through and from the sounds of the constant clicking sound, one of the drive gears is on its way out. So disappointed to spend $300 on a toy that hasn't made it even a year a half. With a 3yr old as well, my wife and I thought we would have this Dune Buggy for years to come... If we are lucky, it will last the summer.
Poor quality, poor durability, poor decision to buy this. Sadly, its a great Dune Buggy, my son's love it, but its not built to take the "abuse" of a 5 year old boy? Wait, isn't that who it is designed for?!?! "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesMay 18, 2015
We are so sorry to hear about the problems you've encountered with your son's Dune Racer. Power Wheels has authorized service centers that handle warranty issues and would be happy to help you with this. To find an authorized service center in your area, please use our locator here: http://fp-fami.ly/dNJRp7.
Review 3 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Utah
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
breaks easily
March 2, 2015
" this is fun yes but my 4 year old got it for his birthday and in 6 months the reverse stopped working and 2 month after that forward stopped working. we are bummed because we paid a lot of money for a product that should have lasted longer than 8 months. we were surprised because power-wheels makes durable products. we have the artic cat jeep. got that for my now 9 year old when he was 3. it is still going strong 6 years later. so I guess we are just sad to see it go so soon. I would not recommend this product at all. but the artic cat I can say yes to. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesMarch 3, 2015
We're sorry to hear that your son's Power Wheels® Dune Racer has stopped working so quickly! Our team can certainly help you get the vehicle repaired. You can find all of our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 4 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Raleigh NC
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great Toy, but wheels wear out quickly
January 19, 2015
" We purchased the Dune Racer for our 8yr old, he and his friends love it. With young boys it has proven durable. However it has one flaw. The wheels are made of hard plastic and wore out w/in the first year. (driven on asphalt and grass).
After checking around, I learned they can be replaced, but I was quoted $80+ tx to replace all 4 wheels from one of the few FP authorized service agency. That is if I changed them myself, otherwise, I have to pay labor too. It is very disappointing after paying so much for the vehicle, to find the tires only lasted 8 months before needing replacement.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesJanuary 21, 2015
We're sorry to hear about the tires on your Power Wheels® Dune Racer. These should have lasted longer and we would like to help. Please contact us for assistance. You can find all of our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 5 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Olympia, WA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Dad
Fun but wore out
January 10, 2015
" The kids love it. They get to drive around and enjoy the vehicle. All the neighbor kids line up to ride in it or drive it. It is a blast. My main concern is the tires in rear wore out in less than a year. It was driven almost completely on asphalt and both tires are no longer functional after less than 9 months. Look for tire improvement before purchasing. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesJanuary 14, 2015
We're sorry you're having trouble with your children's Power Wheels® Dune Racer. The best thing to do is contact our Consumer Services team so they can help you locate replacement tires. You can find all of their contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d4.
Review 6 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Athens, GA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Best Purchase ever
November 2, 2014
" I bought it a year ago for my daughter and she loved it! "
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:new york
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
best purchase ever
August 10, 2014
" We purchased the power wheels dune racer for my grandson, age 2 1/2. He loves driving it so much that we purchased an additional 12 volt battery so he could ride all day! This is a fabulous product!! I would give it 10 stars!! It:s worth every penny! "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Akron, Ohio
Number of kids: 4
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
good product so far
December 25, 2013
" it has been a lot of fun for the kids so far. i think it should have seat belts and dont let your kid back into anything or they will smash the door to the battery box making it really hard to get into. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Idaho
Number of kids: More than 4
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
could be amazing
October 23, 2013
" My only concern with this toy was the fact that it was advertised to have seat belts but did not come with any??? "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsOctober 25, 2013
We have recently made some design changes to some of our Power Wheels® vehicles and have chosen to remove the seat belts from select models. These changes are not reflected in our packaging or instructions yet. The adjustable seat belts were designed to be a play feature and do not function as protective safety restraints. We apologize for any disappointment this may cause and we will forward along your comments to our design teams.
Review 10 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Santa Monica,Ca
Number of kids: 0
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Uncle
Slow ???
October 16, 2013
" I just purchased the Dune Racer for my Nephew this past weekend. I assembled it in about an hour, the only little problems that I saw with the instructions were that it was wrong as to the placement of the green triangle stickers that go on each side of the buggy. Sticker numbers 14-17. I was also curious as to why mine did not come with seat belts? I can see on the seat where the holes should be, they were not cut out, and there were no belts included . I also charged the battery for the required 18 hours, but it barely had enough power to move my 3 year old Nephew around the yard. The yard was flat and the grass was very short, I just think that even in low gear it should have a little more power that in did ? It is supposed to be able to carry two kids the size of my Nephew. We ran it for a while to try and discharge the battery and then recharged it overnight, but it was not any more powerful the next day. I think we might have a bad battery ? I do like the looks of it, and I also like the fact that it has a full steel frame, so I think it will last for a long time. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsOctober 17, 2013
We're sorry you're having an issue with your Power Wheels® Dune Racer. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 11 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:bellaire,oh
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
good perchase
September 23, 2013
" my son loves this vehicle but the tires already wor out like to know how to get new ones and he already wore out a gear in the wheel houseing i would like to know how i can replace parts "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsSeptember 24, 2013
The best thing to do is contact our Consumer Relations team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon. - Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 12 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Spartanburg, SC
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Amazing Little Buggy!!!
September 7, 2013
" My wife and I got this for our 2 year old boy for Christmas, after a LOT of research. I work with iindustrial robotics and automation for a living, and as a result, difficult to impress.
Let me simply say WOW! This thing was designed right! Quality details include a steel tube frame, battery compartment (and weight) centered toward the back, dual motor drive, solid interlocking chassis (considering its plastic), great off-road traction, impressive power, VERY good battery life, and two very good speeds (WALK and JOG).
My boy is now 2 and a half, and finally enjoying it a bunch. (Two years old was a bit young.) I recentlyadded a circuit for LED headlights and tail/brake lights to my son's so he can also drive it at night.
Big thing, maintain the battery!!! Keep it charged, but don't leave it on the charger more than a day.
You and your kids will LOVE this buggy!
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Product question
August 2, 2013
" This is not really a review, but a question I am hoping FP staff can answer: what is the maximum size of a child to comfortably ride this? I saw the 130lb weight limit, but I am wondering more about height. Thanks. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsAugust 5, 2013
The Power Wheels® Dune Racer has a good amount of leg room, but unfortunately we are unable to provide specific height dimensions.
Review 14 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:nc
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
not for off hard ground
June 17, 2013
" I bought it for my 4 year old son for Christmas. It does good on flat ground but when it gets in a little bit of tall grass or in a bind it cuts off. Then he has to wait for about 2 min or you have to unplug the battery and plug it back in before he goes and it does it again. So if you have a place with a little bit of rough terrain or tall grass save your money. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJune 19, 2013
We're sorry you're having an issue with your Power Wheels® Dune Racer. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 15 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Ohio
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
AMAZING!!!!
May 14, 2013
" We purchased this dune buggy for our 3yr olds birthday with a little hesitation whether it would go good on our hilly 5 aches! Oh boy- we're we surprised! It makes it up some pretty steep hills (slows down and prob drains the battery, but not once has he not made it up). Not to mention it goes great through mud and over rocks! But what can I say, this 3 year old has no fear! Over all its was a great buy and it will last until he's five and moves up to a gas powered toy. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:alabama
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
too slow
March 15, 2013
" When we purchased this item we had to put it together. My son already had one ride on vehicle and asked for another identical to the one he had. I did not want him to have two of the same kind and I liked the looks of this one and based on the age and weight restrictions I thought this one would last longer. My son is almost 4. After assembling we noticed it went 1/2 the speed of the one my son already had. As you can imagine he lost interest fast. Had this been his first ride on he would have enjoyed it more. My husband took it back apart thinking maybe he assembled it incorrectly or that a stronger battery would make it faster. It no longer works at all. At most we got 1/2 hour usage out of it. If this is your child's first ride on and you want to make sure they cannot go faster than you an walk then I highly recommend this product. If your child is already accustomed to a faster ride on then this would be a downgrade. On another note the seat does not adjust. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsMarch 19, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having difficulty with your Power Wheels® Dune Racer. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 17 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Melbourne, Australia
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Dad
Great gift for 5yo & 2yo boys
December 27, 2012
" The Dune Racer has just been released in Australia and I purchased it for my boys for Christmas. I also got the extra battery and was concerned after three days of driving that I wouldn't need it but it was good to have when it eventually died.
This car is awesome. My 2yo son has shown some excellent driving skills for his age. We are headed to the beach next week and are looking forward to getting it on the sand for some beach cruising!
I recommend this to anyone with boys! "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Priceville, AL
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Aunt
Dune Racer is Awesome
December 25, 2012
" This is the best gift we have ever given. My greatnephews are 5 & 2. We got this for them when the come over to our home. We have a large 1 acre + back yard for them to ride around it has grass, gravel, and leaves. The 5 year old came over today and opened their gift. He couldn't wait to ride even though it was raining. I knew the back yard would be mush with soft grass and wet leaves. This car powered thru all those issues. He was just elated with joy. Thanks for making such a great product!!! "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
My Kid's dream toy
May 30, 2012
" I got this racer for my kid when he was 3. He is 9 now and still loves it.
Best Buy for boys with some space to drive this beauty... "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Power Wheels® Dune Racer (Green)
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Illinois (outside St. Louis, MO)
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
March 22, 2012
" My 4 year old loves the Dune Racer. I just recommend you let your child ride on the grass not on concrete. This toy is not quite a year old and two days ago we found a puncture in the left back tire from wear of the concrete. Other than that, it provides alot of fun for my son. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>