Product Reviews

Imaginext® Pterodactyl

Imagine ... ... a prehistoric dino that flies around with cool tech gear! It’s the pterodactyl, and he’s firing up his jet boosters for an action-packed flight. With a wing span of up to 18 inches, he can soar to great heights. Or kids can pull his tail for claw grabbing action. Imaginext®—it’s a new adventure every time you play! Includes pterodactyl, figure, jet pack, dino helmet, figure helmet, two projectiles, rock and axe. All gear is removable for classic dino play.
3.143
3.1
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 of 7(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Imaginext® Pterodactyl
Review 1 for Imaginext® Pterodactyl
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Saint Charles, IL
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Mom
Nice toy, inaccurate description
February 16, 2014
" My 5 year old daughter is a dinosaur fanatic. She has watched almost every documentary made on the prehistoric beasts. She eats, breathes, and lives dinosaurs. If she is awake, she is most likely talking to someone about dinosaurs or learning more about them. She has been using her Christmas and birthday money to buy the large Imaginext line (she has the Mega Apatosaurus and the Mega T-Rex, and today bought the Pterodactyl). She absolutely loves these toys (though she does take the accessories off and just plays with the dinosaurs). They are very sturdy, durable and made exceptionally well. We have no problems with the toys and recommend them to everyone.
She has a complaint about the accuracy of the Pterodactyl, however. The tail. It's too long. And she believes this toy resembles a Quetzalcoaltus and is mislabeled.
More importantly, your website lists the Pterodactyl as "...a prehistoric dino that flies around with cool tech gear!" I should have filtered that when I read the description, but I had a momentary lapse in thought. Pterosaurs (the family that Pterodactyls fall into) are actually not dinosaurs. They are flying reptiles that lived at the same time as dinosaurs.
She just wanted me to clear that up for you.
Thank you all so much for continuing to be a fantastic toy producer. "
 
My Product Recommendations
Imaginext® Mega T-Rex
3.3 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Imaginext® Pterodactyl
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Pennsylvania
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Bad Design
May 20, 2013
" My son likes the dinosaurs. He plays with them but we cannot get the accessories to stay on. Most times he...or I....get frustrated and end up just taking the accessories away and just playing with the dinos. With this one, the toy does not stand so it is constantly on it's side or back. Also, the wings rub the launchers and inadvertently launch the missle. You have to watch out for this as it may be right when your child is looking at it. Bad Design all around although I have to say that the seat accessory does stay on better for this dino. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsMay 22, 2013
We're sorry you're having some issues with your Imaginext® Pterodactyl . The best thing to do is contact our Consumer Relations team for assistance. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 3 for Imaginext® Pterodactyl
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Maryland
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Needs a little more articulation
January 4, 2012
" The legs don't move. The talons open and close by moving the tail, but the legs themselves don't move. That makes it hard for the dinosaur to stand because of the legs default (only) position. You can balance him using his tail (like a tripod), but he gets knocked down easily.
My only other complaint is that the techno-pack doesn't lock in place (as other reviewers have mentioned). The "driver" does lock in place (more or less) to the harness itself, but the harness simply slips onto the dino, but doesn't lock in place or snap together to secure it. The Raptor has a similar problem, but due to the Raptor's posture, it's less noticeable. The pterodactyl's posture is more vertical, making the loose harness more flimsy, resulting in the dinosaur slipping out when held by the harness and used in normal play.
The harness simply needs to be reworked to include a "snap" or something to secure it, and the dino itself needs to have moveable legs or some way to help it stand up. If those things are changed the toy would be perfect. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJanuary 10, 2012
Our design and engineering teams put a lot of thought and energy into creating engaging toys, so we are sorry that you are disappointed with aspects of this toy. We work hard to exceed consumer expectations, and we thank you for sharing your opinions with us.
Review 4 for Imaginext® Pterodactyl
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Toronto, Ont
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
doesn't keep balance
January 1, 2012
" Great toy shame it doesnt stand up as it is top heavy. i have noo issues with the gear, and the kids enjoy it "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Imaginext® Pterodactyl
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Chandler, AZ
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Gerat fun, but missing wing
December 24, 2011
" My son loves Imaginext products and he loves dinosaurs. It doesn't take much for him to go into his world of make-believe. He loves swooping around the house with his buddy and causing havoc for his action figures.
One downside: Our pterodactyl is missing the extended portion of the wing (the part that pivots). He would have a rough time in prehistoric times. Anyone have any idea how to get a replacement? (It was gift.) "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 30, 2011
Our Consumer Relations team may be able to help! Please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
Review 6 for Imaginext® Pterodactyl
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? No
Not Bad
September 29, 2011
" The quality of the product is great, unfortunately the gear is is what lowers the rating on this product. The dinosaur doesn't stand in place so you can place it anywhere. The gear doesn't stay in place and is hard to put on it. My son gets frustrated with it but enjoys playing with it if it doesn't have the gear. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsOctober 4, 2011
Our Consumer Relations team may be able to assist you with some troubleshooting tips. Please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
Review 7 for Imaginext® Pterodactyl
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Dad
Not so high flyer.
August 20, 2011
" After buying the Apatosaurus, Ankylosaurus, Raptor from this line I was expecting good things.
But, when I got it out of the box and put the gear on I noticed a few promblems.
The figure doesn't really lock into place and has no handles to secure him in place.
The harness just slides over the shoulders there is no secong connection or snap point to hold it on.
As soon as you pich up the toy the harnes slides around on the bottom.
The helmet has the same issue it doesn't lock into place anywhere it just slides down the head with no locking point so it flops around on the head.
Still a good toy dinosaur but the gear is a dissapointing.
Really wish the helmet, rider and gear locked in place. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsAugust 22, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate hearing consumer feedback -- both positive and negative -- about how our products work in the real world. We're sorry you've had a disappointing experience, and we'll pass along your comments to the appropriate group.