Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Fisher-Price.

Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave

Imagine ... ... The Bat Signal is flashing! Batman gets the message at the Batcave and the crime fighting begins! Equipped with all sorts of gadgetry, the Imaginext Batcave has a mechanical claw to work on the Batcycle , a secret entrance, a turnstile, a telescope and more! All you have to do is turn your Batman figure on the disk to reveal them or activate them! Plus, there’s a Bat Signal that really lights up, and a launcher that lets you fire projectiles at the enemy! Add them to your collection of DC Super Friends™ for lots of bat-tastic adventures! Includes Batcave and Batman figure, and 2 AAA (R03) 1,5V batteries. Product dimensions (when open): 16" L x 15" W x 24" H DC SUPER FRIENDS and all related characters and elements are trademarks of and © DC Comics. (s11) Sorry this item cannot be gift wrapped.
3.259
3.3
(54 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
10
2 stars
13
1 star
6
28 of 54(52%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Review 1 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:VA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Good toy, could be better
September 26, 2013
"Our older son wanted this over anything else for his fourth birthday - lovingly refers to it at the "batman house". A year later, both of our boys (now 3 and 5) still love it, and all of the line that goes with it. They love the elevator, jail, various floors, and all of the other activities and many knick-knacks. And there is a "coolness" factor to the imposing size and light-up bat signal. The overall structure is pretty rugged. However, the quality on some elements could be better. As other reviewers note, the elevator is not great, the telecope doesn't work (not sure if it is supposed to - seemed like it would), the button on the launcher does not come up all the way (worst of all imaginext launchers we have), and some of the doors fall off. After getting this batcave, we bought the earlier version, used but in good shape with all pieces. The quality on that version was definitely better, and I would have given it a full 5 stars (although this one still wins on sheer coolness). Overall, this is still a solid, fun toy, and a good foundation for the DC superhero line."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsSeptember 27, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having difficulty with your Imaginext DC Super Friends Batcave. To provide you with the best service, we would like to speak with you personally. Please contact our Consumer Relations team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 2 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Illinois
Number of kids: 4
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Should have read the reviews first....
September 9, 2013
"After returning the first one I bought thinking it was missing parts and because there was no manual, I looked further into the reviews as well as the web manual.
The online instructions show the "old" telescope which looks like it actually works! This "updated" version I got stinks!
FP, why would you stop including manuals? This toy is not cheap so as a consumer I expect quality!
And I am a return customer! I bought my son the Eagle Talon Castle and every accessory that was available for Christmas and he enjoyed it so much that I thought the Batcave was surely going to surpass it for his Birthday! Not the case....the quality is much lower than the castle and the features are lacking in comparison!
I feel DC comics would be disappointed in your representation of Batman!
Buyer beware......I am done purchasing Imaginext from Fisher Price.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsSeptember 10, 2013
We're sorry you're disappointed with the Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave you purchased. The best thing to do is contact our Consumer Relations team for assistance. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 3 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Seattle
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Fun but missing parts
June 13, 2013
"My 3 year old son loves this! And it holds his attention for quite awhile.
My only complaint is it was missing some of the smaller extra parts and instructions. I actually didn't know there were instructions until I read others were missing instructions and parts too.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJune 17, 2013
We’re sorry parts were missing from your Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 4 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Ohio
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Broken and flimsy
February 7, 2013
"Got this as a birthday present for my son who will be 5 tomorrow. He LOVES Batman and would be so excited to get it but after reading reviews I thought I should open and check it out first. Well, the elevator is broken out of the box, it won't move at all. It was missing Batman, Robin and the big computer thing. And yes, whoever designed the telescope needs a new job. Why make it so it won't fit through the opening?
I don't even know if I want to try getting another one because the whole thing feels kind of flimsy. I can imagine the elevator breaking again quickly. I'm sure he will be excited to play with it, even if the elevator breaks. I'm just disappointed in the quality, especially for the price.
This is our first venture into Imaginext toys. We do have other pieces from the DC set that look good so far though. (The Jokers Fun House, Green Lantern planet, Motorized Batmobile and a couple of the smaller character packs.) The biggest and "best" piece is the biggest letdown."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsFebruary 11, 2013
We’re sorry the figures were missing and the elevator isn't working in your son's new Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 5 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Good Buy..
February 4, 2013
"Just bought this for my 4yr old son for his birthday today.. he loves it!!
i have read other reviews and am shocked that grown adults need instructions to put this together! as for the construction, its built well enough for a small child, did however think the bat wind should have been included since that picture was on the box..
other wise great buy for a toddler.."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Houston, TX
Number of kids: 4
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Mom
Fabulous Toy
January 10, 2013
"My 6 year old son really loves this toy! I too thought a part was missing since we weren't sure how the telescope worked without instructions. I watched the video clip and thought we were missing the base. Thankfully other reviewers wrote this and I read the response from Fisher Price which helped us. It works great and my son loves the toy! Many fun features!"
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? No
Not what picture shows
January 7, 2013
"I agree with a recent reviewer about the missing parts. We too, had missing pieces as well as zero instructions. While it's not very hard to put together, why would you not include directions? FP states that they changed the design on this toy but perhaps a picture showing that would be helpful to customers. I am disappointed that I wasted time returning this item because I thought it was missing a piece when the whole time the piece was never included. I worked in the entertainment field and know that you do not show a picture of something on the product when that is not included in the package, that is false advertising. Terrible customer service in my opinion!!!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJanuary 9, 2013
We're sorry the instructions were missing from your Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave. You can find the instructions here: http://fpfami.ly/0OEW. We hope this helps!
Review 8 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Burgess Hill UK
Number of kids: More than 4
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Grandfather
great buy
December 29, 2012
"Bought this for our 6 year old grandson, he justs loves it. Recommended to all"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:MA
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Missing Parts
December 28, 2012
"Like other reviews we are missing the base to the telescope. One of the best parts of this toy. I called a friend that also bought one for her son for Christmas and she doesn't have the part either. So I can't just exchange it for one with all the parts. Seems like they are all missing. What a disappointment :("
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 31, 2012
There have been some design changes made to the Bat Cave. The telescope base was removed from the product and a rounded end has been added to the telescope. The rounded end will fit into one of the two hex fittings that have been added to the purple platform. In order to lower the telescope in the elevator, you will need to put the ball on the bottom of the telescope into the raised hexagon opening and have the telescope facing forward. Tip it back and the elevator will now lower. The gray door that is located on the front upper portion of the Bat Cave has also been eliminated. We hope this helps!
Review 10 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Illinois
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Batcave so fun!
December 28, 2012
"We did not have any issues with this batcave and have been having a blast with it! So many levels for imaginative play! We can stuff so many "bad guys" into the prison, the launcher works fine as does all the moving parts.
My son is five so it was a great purchase for him as his first and probably not last imaginext playset."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Florida
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Aunt
I have the older version...
December 28, 2012
"I purchased the older design about a year ago for my oldest nephew's birthday. He plays with is constantly and it's held up very well. This item impressed me so much that I have looked at other Imaginext lines for future purchases. My only complaint is that most of the accessories for this product all come with another batman figure. So if we add any more to it we'll have like five batmans."
 
My Product Recommendations
Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcopter
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ The Joker
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Los Angeles
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Missing parts and Manual
December 27, 2012
"Similar to other reviews missing several parts including telescope mount, launcher mount and flip down door next to the elevator. Curiously also missing any written documentation (other than what's on the side of the box)"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 29, 2012
We recently had some design changes to the Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave and the telescope base was removed from the product and a rounded end has been added to the telescope. The rounded end will fit into one of the two hex fittings that have been added to the purple platform. The gray door that is located on the front upper portion of the Bat Cave has also been eliminated. You can find instructions for the Batcave here: http://fpfami.ly/0OEW. We hope this helps!
Review 13 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? No
Missing Parts
December 27, 2012
"We too have found several small items missing from this product. This was our son's "big gift" for Christmas this year so we are pretty disappointed in the quality. I also think for $50 there should be some sound effects, not just a light on the bat that only stays lit for a few seconds. Going to attempt to contact customer service so we'll see where that leads..."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 29, 2012
We’re sorry you were missing parts to your Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 14 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Michigan
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Not up to usual Imaginext standards!
December 26, 2012
"My boys, 4.5 and 3 yrs old, were so excited about this toy. We really enjoy the Imaginext toy series, specifically the space explorers and dinosaur themed toys - they are durable, well made, and appropriately designed for frustration-free play by this age group. The Batcave, especially considering the $50 price tag, is not up to the usual standards we've come to expect from the brand.
1) Elevator, which functions on cords, is extremely hard to move up/down, it feels like broken vertical blinds.
2) Telescope - thought I was missing a base piece (which is pictured on box) - called Fisher-Price, to be told there was a design change. Followed new directions, the telescope falls over and does not pop through the top opening no matter the angle.
3) Fire projector - manufacture defect, button lower than opening, so could not push.
4) Batcycle - Batman figure does NOT work with the vehicle, which is hugely misleading and disappointing, especially because the vehicle is colored to match Batman more than Robin. Robin figure works with the vehicle, but it is very difficult to force him on there.
5) Secret doors - construction is super flimsy, and does not stay closed sometimes.
I will say that Fisher-Price, on the 2 occasions - including this one - that I've contacted them about a defective toy, is very responsive. After some chatting, I was given the option of returning the item for a replacement. I received an email with return instructions - but after reading multiple reviews on several websites which cited the same issues we had, I decided to return the item outright.
Come to find out there is an older design of the Imaginext Batcave which is hugely better. Boys have been playing happily, daily, with the one I found second hand.
I am surprised to see so many positive reviews for the new design - maybe the item is manufactured in more than one place, and the quality control is different by location...for future buyers, good luck! Hope they bring back the older design and quality, the concept is so good."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Iowa
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Child loves it!
December 26, 2012
""My In-Laws purchased this toy for my son for Christmas. For my Son, everything was perfect, but to my disappointment the base for telescope was missing so it doesn't work right and will not fit thru the pop up opening and the cannon doesn't really fire. I contacted Customer Service and was advised they would send em a shipping label to return the toy and they would send me new toy, this would be great but my son does not want to be without the toy. I tried taking it back to the store to get one that was not missing any pieces, but the store only had 3 left and they were all missing the same base piece for the telescope. All in all i think it is a good toy so far, just a little disapointing for me."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 28, 2012
We're sorry you're disappointed with the Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave. We recently had some design changes to the Batcave and the telescope base was removed from the product and a rounded end has been added to the telescope. The rounded end will fit into one of the two hex fittings that have been added to the purple platform. We hope this helps!
Review 16 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Missing Pieces
December 26, 2012
"I should have read other folks' reviews before suggesting this be purchased for my son's Christmas gift. Now that it's open and out of the box, we are discovering that there are missing pieces and a missing instruction manual. While I'm printing the manual out from online, I'm reading through them, and I can't believe the quality that's missing in our product. Where is your Quality Control? Especially at the holidays?
I will be contacting Customer Service today to request that these pieces be sent immediately."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 28, 2012
We’re sorry you’re missing parts to your Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave. To provide you with the best service, we would like to speak with you personally. Please contact our Consumer Relations team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 17 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Bothell, WA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Batcave Missing Parts!
December 26, 2012
"I was so excited to get DS the Imaginext Batcave for Christmas and he was SOOOOOO thrilled with it this morning but upon further inspection there are parts missing and I am so sad and so is he! I am truly hoping I can return it tomorrow and get another one but if not I will be contacting FP in the morning. I am also worried about the elevator, it isn't super smooth, hoping the next one will be better. Seems like after a year you all could make some minor design changes and improve the product. ..... and then maybe package the small pieces a little better."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 28, 2012
We’re sorry you were missing parts to your Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave. To provide you with the best service, we would like to speak with you personally. Please contact our Consumer Relations team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 18 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Spring Lake, MI
Number of kids: 4
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Awful purchase
December 25, 2012
"We purchased this product for our son for Christmas. While assembling it for him today, I realized there were several key components missing. The telescope base is missing which makes that part of the toy completely useless. The assembly instructions say to attach a wall to the balcony. There is no wall to attach. I probably should have read some of the reviews before spending $55 on this toy, as it seems there are several other similar complaints. I assumed being a Fisher Price toy, it would be higher quality than that of the Dollar Store."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 27, 2012
We’re sorry you’re having difficulty with your Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave. To provide you with the best service, we would like to speak with you personally. Please contact our Consumer Relations team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 19 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Kentucky
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
I am very DISAPPOINTED and yes, MAD!
December 25, 2012
"YES I am up at 2 am EST on Christmas Eve writing this because I AM THAT MAD! I really wish I had read the other reviews before purchasing this 3 weeks ago. Like others previously mentioned, elevator does not flow well and also I am missing pieces. I am a very detailed personality and I KNOW they were not lost on my watch. I am missing the BALCONY WALL PIECE and the BASE PIECE TO THE TELESCOPE. I AM FORMALLY REQUESTING THAT THE PIECES BE SENT TO ME AFTER SPENDING $50 ON THIS PIECE OF POOR WORKMANSHIP! I am usually pleased with toys with the Fisher-Price name, but this is one I will not recommend and sad to say I wish I had not purchased with my hard earned money for my 3 yr old as his big gift from Santa."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 27, 2012
We’re sorry you’re having difficulty with your Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave. To provide you with the best service, we would like to speak with you personally. Please contact our Consumer Relations team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 20 for Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Illinois
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Dad
Disappointing present
December 24, 2012
"Purchased this toy for my son for Christmas. To my disappointment, the toy did function has advertised. For one, two pieces were missing from the toy. The base for telescope was missing so it doesn't work right and will not fit thru the pop up opening. From the looks of the packaging a door on the front side looks to be missing. Last, the button on the cannon, doesn't pop up making it very difficult to push and the cannon doesn't really fire. I was really looking forward to seeing my son play with this present. I have bought several other imaginext toys that work great and thought this would be the same."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 26, 2012
We’re sorry pieces were missing from your son’s Imaginext® DC Super Friends™ Batcave. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
1 2 3 next>>