Product Reviews

Imaginext® Samurai Castle

Imagine... ... a world of Samurai and Ninja warriors! There’s plenty of action & excitement, with a secret entrance when you turn the Samurai statue, a cannon that really fires, a zip line that figures can slide down, and even a lever where you can slide figures back & forth for battling action! Includes castle, Ninja & Samurai figures and Ninja star projectiles. Product dimensions: 23"L x 6"W x 16"H Available exclusively at Target
3.286
3.3
(7 Reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
3 of 7(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Imaginext® Samurai Castle
Review 1 for Imaginext® Samurai Castle
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Number of kids: 4
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Mom
Disappointed!
September 21, 2013
"The disc won't turn all the way so the eyes and horns don't work. My son likes it so I want to exchange it but I'm unsure as it seems to be an issue!"
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsSeptember 23, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having an issue with your Imaginext® Samurai Castle. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 2 for Imaginext® Samurai Castle
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Michigan
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Mom
Disappointed
June 23, 2013
"We bought the Samurai Castle for my daughters birthday. She was super excited (it was one of the main things she asked for) but upon getting it home and out of the package we found that neither the eyes or horns work...at all. Needless to say we were all disappointed. It was too late at night to return it, then after reading reviews I find this may be an ongoing issue. I am now wondering if it is even worth exchanging for a different one. I have contacted customer service, but it is Sunday..so I don't expect to hear anything until Monday. I will update when I do hear from them."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJune 25, 2013
We’re sorry to hear about your experience with our Imaginext® Samurai Castle; those features should definitely be working. Please allow up to 48 hours for our Consumer Relations team to respond.
Review 3 for Imaginext® Samurai Castle
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:NY
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Great Purchase
January 1, 2013
"We purchased the Samurai Castle (along with the Ninja Dragon, Ninja Glider, and Ninja & Samurai set pieces) for Christmas for our son to go along with the Samurai Dragon Wagon, Archer and Horse, Sir Angus and Horse, and Ninja and Horse that he already had. Today is January 1st and I can safely say that there hasn't been a single day since Christmas that we haven't spent AT LEAST two hours a day playing with it with him. It has unlocked his imagination in a way I've never seen before. The samurais go from fighting one second to kicking an imaginary soccer ball back and forth together to having throwing competitions to see who can throw their weapon or launch a projectile through the castle door the farthest.
There are no electronic components so no batteries are required which is a HUGE plus for us. The set also is one of the smaller sets Imaginext makes which was also a big plus for us because in a super-size is now medium world, this set was actually big enough to play with and keep busy, but not oversized to the point where two kids are needed just to open it up all of the way like the Eagle Talon Castle. How big of a castle does a kid need?
The one complaint I would make is the same complaint everyone else has made which was that the Samurai face along with horns, eyes, and disc launcher don't function correctly out of the box they way they should have. BUT! While my son was playing with the whole set on Christmas day, I was able to quickly fix it with a phillips head screwdriver. I easily removed the four screws securing the brown panel that covers the mechanisms, removed the panel, realigned the eyes back on track with the mechanism, and screwed the panel back in place. This process literally took me less than 3 minutes. It probably would have taken less than a minute if I had used a drill. And again, this whole thing was done while my son was very actively and excitedly playing with it. It was an extremely easy fix and every thing still functions correctly even though we have activated everything at least 1,000 times since Christmas.
The only major negative I found with the entire set (Castle plus all the other parts of the set) is that collectively, there are a lot of small pieces. A lot. All total there are 47 small weapons/armor/projectiles.
Lastly, I would like to draw attention to Fisher-Price's excellent customer service. I contacted them because one of the pieces of the set that I bought was missing a tiny plastic sword. Surely a simple error that has to occur every once in awhile on such a large assembly and packaging line. To make it up to me, they sent me a voucher worth the entire cost of the item plus a bag that contained all the parts that came with the castle since they didn't have a simple plastic sword to replace the one missing. The bag came with two extra figures plus 3 extra weapons. Surely significantly worth more than the simple piece I was missing. I will definitely continue to bring business to Fisher Price."
Review 4 for Imaginext® Samurai Castle
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Little Rock, AR
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Not so happy
December 10, 2012
"We have bought a bunch of the Imaginext toys and my son absolutely loves them, I love them. We've never had any problems with the toys and they withstand a boy tossing them everywhere.
However, we purchased the Samurai Castle today (my son saved for it and used some birthday money). I was rather upset when we opened it and the discs wouldn't spit out, the eyes and horns don't do anything. It works maybe 1 out of 15 tries. This isn't normal for one of these toys.
I'm now second guessing the other Imaginext piece I got for him for Christmas."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 12, 2012
We’re sorry you’re having difficulty with your Imaginext® Samurai Castle. To provide you with the best service, we would like to speak with you personally. Please contact our Consumer Relations team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 5 for Imaginext® Samurai Castle
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Long Island, NY
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great Castle
May 22, 2012
"Both my children love this toy. (ages 6 & 8) I love that it doesn't need any batteries and the guy can go down the zip line--very cool! We have most of the accessories that go with it. Imaginext toys are excellent quality."
Review 6 for Imaginext® Samurai Castle
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:San Diego, CA
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Worst Purchase Ever
January 7, 2012
"We bought this for my son for Christmas, its all he had talked about. We take it out of the box Christmas morning to find you have to assemble some pieces but there are no instructions so you have to look at the box and hope you can figure it out from the pictures. We finally get it all set up and the first time we used it the tiger's mouth opened up and spit out the discs and his eyes glowed my son thought it was so cool. However, it hasn't worked since the first time we can't get the disk to turn on top and it won't spit out the discs, it's eyes won't glow and his horns won't come up either. This product is an absolute waste of money. My son is so disappointed that it doesn't work and we have tried everything possible to get it work. Now the one thing that my son really wanted for Christmas he can't even use. I wouldn't buy there products ever again. My friends also bought the Batman cave for him and it doesn't work very well either."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJanuary 10, 2012
Our Consumer Relations team may be able to help! Please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Imaginext® Samurai Castle
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall RatingRating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1