Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Fisher-Price.

Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera

Creating a “self-portrait” is a whole lot easier when you can see yourself! So this camera is designed to take the guesswork out of picture-taking, whether it’s you or a friend, stills or video. The rotating lens swivels from front to back so even preschool photographers can see just what they’re shooting. Download stampers and special effects to add to the fun! Includes 4 “AA” batteries. Features : • Records video with sound! • 180 degree swiveling lens • Fun special effects & stampers • Big buttons—easy for little hands to use • Child-friendly controls—no reading required • 4X digital zoom • Stores up to 1,000 pictures • SD card slot to expand memory • Convenient wrist strap • Low-light performance—no flash needed • 1.8” color screen lets kids see who & what they’re shooting Download photo editing software for your PC ! Microsoft® Windows XP & higher • 150 MB hard drive space available for installation • USB port & USB cable (not included) for computer connectivity Mac users: Photo editing software is not Mac-compatible, but you can connect this camera directly to your Mac to transfer images.
2.667
2.7
(21 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
6
6 of 21(29%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Review 1 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Sydney, Australia
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Did not last long
February 27, 2014
"My parents bought the Kid-Tough See Yourself camera for my daughter for her birthday. She absolutely loved it, and it was a great way to wean her off trying to grab my camera. It was a great camera for her to take to the park & she used it often.
After about 6 months it just stopped working - we changed batteries several times and it just hangs when turning on. Sounds similar to problems others have had. It's been broken for over 2 months and my daughter still keeps asking me if it is fixed yet! I'm reluctant to buy another one until these problems are fixed."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesFebruary 28, 2014
We’re sorry you're having an issue with your Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera. If you contact our Consumer Services team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 2 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Ohio
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Not really Tough Enough
January 6, 2014
"I purchased this camera for my son a little over a year ago and it was a huge hit. He loves the flipping viewfinder and while he took some photos, he really enjoyed making videos and watching them on the camera. He played with it sporadically at first, however the past 6 months or so he was using it daily. It seemed that it was a sturdy camera as he did drop it on occasion and nothing broke off of it. Then, out of the blue and for no discernible reason, it just stopped working. There was no error message or anything like that, it will not turn on at all. I tried several sets of batteries to no avail. This is a huge disappointment for my son, who loves this camera, and for me for spending that much money on a toy that barely made it past a year of use. I would like to replace this camera for him but I am leery of shelling out the money to have this happen again (and it looks like a common problem from reviews)."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesJanuary 9, 2014
We're sorry you're having an issue with your son's Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera. The best thing to do is contact our Consumer Services team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon. - Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 3 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:KC, MO, USA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Dad
Worked for a few months
January 9, 2013
"The camera burns through batteries and only worked for a few months. While the camera lasted my child greatly enjoyed it. But now it will only take corrupted pictures with jagged lines and the camera refuses to start occasionally with fresh batteries. I would rather spend the same amount of money on a real point and shoot camera because my child knows how to take care of the camera. I would not recommend this product to anyone since the camera is not very good and it is not a quality product that lasts. Go buy a "rugged" point and shoot and teach your child how to care for it. It will be money better spent."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJanuary 11, 2013
We're sorry you're having an issue with your Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 4 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Bay Area, CA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
This is a great cam for my 3 years old boy
January 2, 2013
"I saw all the reviews and I can tell that please give a try again. This is a great toy. We loved it even I'm using it and it is fun."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Stinks
December 21, 2012
"Worked for a couple months, changed batteries had to fiddlewith it to make it work. Now NOTHING..... Waste of money.... Spent 30 min waiting on CHAT HOLD, I don't have the time for that...... VERY DISSAPOINTED in this item....."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Chicago, IL
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Camera Not Working
August 23, 2012
"Not working (Red camera icon)
This camera was fun for my daughter. However, it stopped taking pictures all of a sudden. Any time he clicks the shutter button, a chime sounds and an image of a "red camera" shows up on the screen. Even after changing batteries and deleting images for space. This camera costs too much to have something like this happen. I would like to be able to send this camera back to Fisher Price in exchange for another one. My daughter is not happy and neither am I."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsAugust 27, 2012
We're sorry you're having trouble with your camera. We would like to try some troubleshooting to get it up and running. Please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
Review 7 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Orlando, FL
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
To good to be true
August 4, 2012
"After a few months of trying to keep my then 2 yr old away from my expensive digital camera, I saw this product in a store and thought it would be perfect. My parents bought it for her third birthday and everyone at the party was amazed at the functionality for a kid's camera. For about a week, my daughter became quite the photographer, asking us to pose and taking wonderful pictures of her view of the world. But it all came to an end suddenly and now a sad red camera icon shows up every time she tries to take a picture or video. Based on other reviews, this doesnt seem to be a fluke so Im truly disappointed that this product is so obviously flawed. Im hoping FP can make it right as I have been a lifetime fan of their products."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsAugust 6, 2012
We're so sorry that you're having trouble with your camera. Our Consumer Relations team may be able to help with some troubleshooting! Please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
Review 8 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Milford, MI
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Not working (Red camera icon)
July 7, 2012
"This camera is fun for my son. However, it stopped taking pictures all of a sudden. Any time he clicks the shutter button, a chime sounds and an image of a "red camera" shows up on the screen. It will still take video, but not pictures, even after changing batteries and deleting images for space. This camera costs too much to have something like this happen. I would like to be able to send this camera back to Fisher Price in exchange for another one. The look on my sons face when it doesn't work is so sad."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJuly 10, 2012
We're so sorry that you're having trouble with your See Yourself Camera.
Our Consumer Relations team may be able to help with some troubleshooting! Please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
Review 9 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Troup, Tx
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
Kid tough purple camera
July 5, 2012
"Purchased this for my Grand Daughters Birthday. It has completely quite working at all. We changed out the batteries and still shows no sign of life. Would like to know about the warrenty on this product.
Kim W."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJuly 10, 2012
We're so sorry that you're having trouble with your See Yourself Camera.
Our Consumer Relations team may be able to help with some troubleshooting! Please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
Review 10 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Stafford, VA
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Good Product, Just a Little Disappointed
May 12, 2012
"I bought this item for my 2 1/2 year old son for Christmas. He loved it and he is able to use the entire camera independently (edit, delete, snap a photo, add a graphic to the picture etc). The picture quality is what you would expect for a childs camera. Nothing special, but you can see the image. If you are looking for high quality pictures on a childs camera, this camera is probably as good as it is going to get outside of buying an "adult use" digital camera. I haven't tried to use the editing software as he has always been content with just taking the pictures and videos. The video quality and audio was more than I expected it to be. Very impressive for a child's camera. Audio is loud and clear, and video picture is adequate. So far the batteries that are in the camera have lasted us since December and it is now May. He doesn't use this toy all the time, maybe once every month or two. But I am still impressed with how long the batteries have lasted. So far his camera is currently holding 135 pictures and roughly 7 videos. This number does not include all of the other pictures and videos we have deleted just for fun. My only complaint is that today as he was taking photos, he wanted to add bunny ears to one of his images. It worked the first time and about ten minutes later when we kept trying to save the bunny ear image we kept receiving the word "ERROR!" on the screen. I cannot seem to fix this issue nor find out why it has happened. He had never dropped his camera until today. It fell from about 3 feet onto a memory foam mat. If that is what caused this issue then it doesn't appear as this product is as "kid tough" as Fisher Price claims. I have looked online for an answer and can't seem to resolve this issue. FISHER PRICE PLEASE HELP!!! My child loves this feature and he doesn't want to play with his camera if it wont allow him to edit the images. I am disappointed that we would have a problem like this with only 5 months of minimal use and one minor fall. I did a lot of research before buying this product and put my trust in Fisher Price's brand. I hope they don't let me down."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsMay 14, 2012
We're so sorry that you're having trouble with your camera. Our Consumer Relations team may be able to help! Please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
Review 11 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:WA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Completely Stopped Working!
May 10, 2012
"As previous customer reviews, I purchased this camera for my daughter 4 1/2 months ago. It has completely stopped working.
I wanted to let you know that I just chatted online with a customer service representative and I am shipping the camera back to them (without the receipt or box) and they will be shipping me a new one.
I hope that the new one will continue to work and if not, I will be sending it back too."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Georgia
Number of kids: More than 4
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Not Great
May 5, 2012
"I purchased 2 cameras for my 3 yr old twins (girl and boy) for Christmas, however after 3 months they are no longer working. Even after replacing the batteries thinking that was the problem, nothing happened. It is a durable camera and keeps the kids interest especially because they can see themselves but quality is poor. Hopefully Fisher Price can determine what causes these cameras to no longer work after a few months."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsMay 7, 2012
We're so sorry that you're having trouble with your cameras. Our Consumer Relations team may be able to help! Please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
Review 13 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Shelbyville, KY
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Poor Quality Camera
April 10, 2012
"My child received as a Christmas present. Although she loved the camera, and it was a very solid looking camera, it completely quit working after only 2 months. it was not played with rough or abused, it was just used pretty normally by a 5 year old girl. It just decided to completely turn off, and never turn back on. One more disadvantage is i cannot retrieve the pictures that were taken on it. I searched and found no device driver software for it. i would not recommend this camera, and i feel like the money Grandma paid for this was fairly well wasted. Very disappointing...
The camera also had a very low resolution, and the built in LCD screen was of very low quality.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsApril 12, 2012
Our Consumer Relations team may be able to help! Please use this link to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
Review 14 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Cary, NC
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Kids love it
March 3, 2012
"My kids use this camera everyday. Bought it for our 5 year old and our 2 year old loves it too and he hasn't broken it yet. Considering getting him his own for Easter. The camera holds a good amount of pictures/video and is extremely durable. Had one issue with a full camera tried deleting pictures from the camera but had to connect to the computer once I did this it was fine.
A little more expensive then I would have liked to pay but worth it to have the see yourself feature."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Florida
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Aunt
Quit working after 2 days
February 26, 2012
"I purchased this for my 5 year old niece for her birthday, she absolutely loved it but after two days it completely stopped working we tried changing the batteries but nothing worked and I threw the box out so I don't even know if the store will take it back at this point. Save the $70 and buy them something else. I was very disappointed."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsMarch 7, 2012
Our Consumer Relations team may be able to help! Please use this link
to see our contact information: http://fp-fami.ly/hzikCN. We offer Live Chat and phone support during the week.
Review 16 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:DC Metro Area
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Less than expected
February 18, 2012
"I researched several cameras before deciding on the KidTough Viewfinder for my 4 and 2.5 year olds. While it was somewhat expected, the viewfinder was just confusing to them and is really better for an older child. The package says it holds a 1000 pictures, but without video, we still had to download after 51. This takes minutes for two kids to accomplish. It is very rugged, although the view finder is still small, grainy, and in desperate need of a flash. This still seems to be the best "kid" product out there, but I ended up buying a cheap drug store digital that works more like I had hoped for my kids and it was $20 versus the $55 I paid for this one."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsFebruary 20, 2012
Our design and engineering teams put a lot of thought and energy into creating engaging toys, so we are sorry that you are disappointed with this toy. We work hard to exceed consumer expectations, and we thank you for sharing your opinions with us.
Review 17 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:beverly hills ca
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Other Relative
best product very durable
January 6, 2012
"my cousin thought it would be fun to throw it of a 3 story stair case onto concrete it worked everything it has a fun photo editor and fun frames great product"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Provo, UT
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Almost Perfect.
December 29, 2011
"This camera was the big hit for my 3 year old girl this Christmas. She took over 500 photos within the first hour and the video is a great source of joy; watching herself.
The lens rotates, which I think it the best feature - wish other cameras could do this. The add on/special fx are okay - she doesn't really like them, but I can see kids liking it.
My only "complaints" would be that the zoom bar on the left was mistaken for the "low battery" sign by my daughter and there was a bit of panic.
Also, and this is a big one, I am a Mac user and found that the camera wouldn't eject from my computer causing it to think the memory card was still full. I found that when I hit the eject I have like 2 sec to pull the USB cord out or the camera is recognized again. It's not a deal breaker, but it is a bit frustrating."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Wahiawa HI
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Kid tough camera
December 27, 2011
"I was really excited to get my son this camera. He loves taking pictures. I was really disappointed though when he used it and I tried to help him use it. Everything operates and is kid friendly. It is the stuff that kids don't care about that this camera fails at. The pictures are horrible. Horrible. They are usually out of focus and very grainy. Also you are not able to readily share your kids pictures with anyone. I have to do about five different things just to get his photos on the web so the grand peps can see them. I would rather of not bought this camera. It needs a thirty day trial and if you are not happy return it. They would see 100% returns I bet. 99.9% at least."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJanuary 2, 2012
Our design and engineering teams put a lot of thought and energy into creating engaging toys, so we are sorry that you are disappointed with this product. We work hard to exceed consumer expectations, and we thank you for sharing your opinions with us.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Kid-Tough® See Yourself™ Camera
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
RatingRating 
3.5 5
3.5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2