Product Reviews

Stand-Up Ballcano™

Watch the fun erupt with lights, music, sounds and motion to keep baby busy and active! The six colorful balls spew out of the Ballcano™ over and over to keep baby’s attention and encourage standing. Baby will enjoy placing them back in and watching them roll down the ramps for fun surprises. Bat the roller for eruption action! Develop & Learn Erupting action! • Encourages baby to pull up, stand, cruise & crawl, helping develop gross motor skills Making it happen • Rewarding sounds, lights & action help baby understand cause & effect Put & take play • Enhances eye-hand coordination as baby grasps & drops balls on top Music & movement • Full of lively music, bright colors & action to stimulate baby’s senses
3.125
3.1
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
2 of 8(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stand-Up Ballcano™
Review 1 for Stand-Up Ballcano™
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Austin, TX
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Dad
What a great toy!
January 21, 2014
"It always amazes me how sophisticated a toy you can get for under $50. The Ballcano plays a bunch of great songs - and they really are great songs - my daughter danced for the first time ever while holding on to her Ballcano. And it pops up all the balls and they fall down the different legs - very fun! It does require some help from Mommy or Daddy to play, including chasing down balls that jump out, but it is a lot of fun. And there are a couple ways to play the music so it works for a wide age range. This is the first Christmas present my daughter ever opened and she still loves to play with it over a year later. And she has pushed on the top of it and abused it pretty good and it is still going strong!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stand-Up Ballcano™
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Lackawanna, NY
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Not What I Expected
October 26, 2013
"I had high hopes when we purchased this because I thought it was similar to the Poppity Pop Dinosaur, which my daughter loved. I thought that the yellow part that held the balls bounced, but I was disappointed to find that it just lifted up spilling the balls over the top. The product is colorful and plays catchy rocket ship music and held my daughter's attention for a short period of time. She would put the balls in and they would spill over the top, but mostly onto the floor. They would roll away and she would lose interest before going to retrieve the balls to play again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stand-Up Ballcano™
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Denver, CO
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Dad
Worked for a month
April 11, 2013
"The device that pushes the balls up quit working after approximately 30 days. The music only now works intermittently as the spinning devices no longer always activate the music. I wish I hadn't thrown away my receipt."
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsApril 15, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having an issue with your Stand-Up Ballcano™. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 4 for Stand-Up Ballcano™
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Canada
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 6 - 12 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Has some Pluses
April 8, 2013
"This was purchased for my Son and although it looked rather bright/entertaining/fun, it was a wee bit of a let down. The balls tend to spill out all over the floor and after just a few uses the part that lifts the balls doesn't seem to be working as well. It does make great sounds and my Son is having a great time using it as a tool to help him stand."
Review 5 for Stand-Up Ballcano™
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Glendale, AZ
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Received from FP Joy of Learning Playdate
September 10, 2012
"This is a very sturdy toy once built, but was a little hard to put the leg screws in while holding all of the layers of plastic together.
My kids did like it at first, and also for about the first 3 min each time they play. But it does the same thing over and over, and they lose interest. I would have like to have seen taller legs so the balls had more of a length to fall.
Probably would not have liked at at if I had not received as a gift...
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsSeptember 13, 2012
Our design and engineering teams put a lot of thought and energy into creating engaging toys, so we are sorry that you are disappointed with this toy. We work hard to exceed consumer expectations, thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Review 6 for Stand-Up Ballcano™
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Akron, Ohio
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Best Purchase Ever
September 7, 2012
"The Fisher-Price Stand-Up Ballcano™ isn't exactly what I expected because of it's name. Instead of spewing balls out of the top like a volcano, the balls roll from the top and down the sides of the legs, each having a different path for the balls to take before they are either caught in a tray at the base or roll off unpredictably (much like lava would flow, I suppose). The toy kept both of my boys entertained for quite a while. My oldest son enjoys collecting the balls and putting them all in the top and he can hardly wait to make them all roll down again! My youngest son enjoys all of the different music that the spinner plays. A great toy for someone with two kids in the toy's recommended age group. I had a lot of fun playing with them by chasing down the runaway balls. This toy definitely teaches sharing!"
Review 7 for Stand-Up Ballcano™
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Not what I expected
September 5, 2012
"When I first saw this on the shelf, I thought that my two children could play with it together and it would be fun. I have had it opened and assembled for a total of 15 minutes and both children are extremely bored. I thought the balls would come out of the inside but they simply fall over the top.
It takes the same exact movement to get the balls to fall off the platform and it is a simple roller. It's so very boring. Once the balls reach the bottom, they have to pick them back up and put them back on the platform. It's the same boring action over and over. The music is nice but there are other toys that require more interaction in order to get the music to play and that is something that would hold their interest a lot longer. I would love to wrap it up and take it back to the store but my aunt ordered it and will consider the return of a gift to be rude."
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsSeptember 10, 2012
We realize life is busy and we appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts with us. Our design and engineering teams put a lot of thought and energy into creating the perfect toy, and your experience concerns us. We love hearing from our consumers to understand how our products work in the real world. Our team has passed along your comments to our product development group. We work hard to exceed consumer expectations, and we thank you for sharing your opinions with us.
Review 8 for Stand-Up Ballcano™
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? No
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
A little dissapointed
September 5, 2012
"I was so excited to give my daughter this for her first birthday. i felt a little let down when i finally saw it in action. i wish i could have seen it work before i bought it. If we hadnt thrown away the box already i would probably exchange it for the ball popping dinosaur. The issue i have with the toy is that once activated the yellow spot that holds tthe balls raises up and dumps all at once and then goes back down. Balls dump and scatter all at once in a matter of seconds. Music and action are over very quickly. I was expecting more of a popping action with some balls rolling off at random intervals. It's almost over before my daughter knows whats going on. Some of the balls roll off and away and underneath furniture instead of down legs like supposed to. Then mommy must crawl around and gather them up and restart it for literally less than 10 seconds worth of action and music. It takes way longer to get everything gathererd up and restarted than the fun lasts. By the time i have it ready to go again my daughter has lost interest. At least my 5 year old can help some with gathering up balls. All around not a horrible toy but for the money was just expecting more. It doesnt allow for any independent play for my one year old. It's fun to do together but just doesnt last long enough. i think 6 months is a very young age rating for this. i would suggest a minnimum of 18 months for a child to make it work alone and understand the concept of finding all the balls and getting it ready to go and then activating it."
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsSeptember 10, 2012
We realize life is busy and we appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts with us. Our design and engineering teams put a lot of thought and energy into creating the perfect toy, and your experience concerns us. We love hearing from our consumers to understand how our products work in the real world. Our team has passed along your comments to our product development group. We work hard to exceed consumer expectations, and we thank you for sharing your opinions with us.