Product Reviews

Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop

Working at the Blue Mountain Quarry is a big adventure for Thomas, and the Risky Rails Bridge Drop takes the daring action to new heights! Thomas carries the boulder up the winding Blue Mountain Quarry track. Send it down the chute and zooming across the cargo zip-line with help from Merrick the gantry crane. As Thomas chugs back down the track, the bridge collapses! Will Thomas be able to travel these risky rails safely? It’s the tallest TrackMaster™ set yet! Includes a motorized Thomas engine that requires one AA battery, not included.
2.25
2.3
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
10
5 of 16(31%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Review 1 for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:St. Louis; Mo
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Our whole family loves it!
August 15, 2014
"Don't know what all the fuss is about. I bought this set for my two-year old at a second-hand store so naturally the instruction sheet was non-existent. We just Googled a picture of the track layout and put it together in 10 minutes. If you make sure to properly lock the pieces together, you don't have any issues with the track falling apart. While he needed help with the mountain pieces, my son was able to set up the flat track completely on his own. We play with this set everyday. It just lives in the corner of our living room.
It was a great find! My son absolutely loves it! The fact that the train is motorized is just icing on the cake."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:nj
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Great Set!
July 7, 2014
"This is the first trackmaster set I bought for my daughter. It was easy to build. I had no problems with this set. Yes, there is an issue if the track gets bumped the alignment gets a little off, the thing is this is a TRAIN SET.
When she get's older the HO Scale and N Gauge sets will be even more flimsy. It's built to handle toddlers and it's a solid set when you put this into perspective to it's size and the target audience and the fact that as the child grows up and if they continue with model railroading they will end up needing even MORE patience with trains that derail because a track is not SOLDERED into place.
With that in mind this is a GREAT set for toddlers to get a taste of model railroading."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:jackson mi
Number of kids: More than 4
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
not a good buy
November 29, 2013
"I bought this and Thomas dose not work and missing pieces son disappointed cant play with it"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer ServicesDecember 2, 2013
We're sorry to hear about your experience with our TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop set. The best thing to do is contact our Consumer Services team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon. - Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 4 for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Chula Vista,CA
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Fun,my son likes it.
October 10, 2013
"Now it took me like 25 min to build this track, and while playing tracks get loose but other than that good trackmaster set. We have a lot of trackmaster sets and we combine the sets together so the fun last longer . I think this set would be awesome if it have had sounds."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Good Stuff
July 18, 2013
"I don't know what the fuss is. It took about 20 minutes to build (by myself). My 3 yo loves it! Made sure pieces were properly connected and never had a problem with it detaching. Only downside was finding a spot for it because it IS big. Looking forward to getting more sets."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Rhode Island
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
WASTE OF MONEY
July 6, 2013
"If there was ever a toy deserving of a "zero" rating, this is it.
This toy came missing piece, with the worst written instructions I have _EVER_ encountered. After multiple attempts to use them, I ended up playing the 'solve the puzzle using the picture and pieces' game.
I'd throw it away if my wife would let me.
Worst gift my son has recieved.
I wouldn't recommend this to anyone."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJuly 8, 2013
We're sorry to hear about your experience with our TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop set. The best thing to do is contact our Consumer Relations team so they can help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon. - Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 7 for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Uncle
Not so much...
April 15, 2013
"This appears to be a pretty awesome activity set, but it simply did not work for our family. After reading some of the reviews for this, I felt much better about my inability to get/keep this thing up and running! I would strongly caution anyone thinking of purchasing this to:
1. Consider the age of whom it is intended. My 4 & 5.5 year olds tolerate the shortcomings for a while, the 2 year old has the same reaction as myself when approaching it...to just step on it and be done. (Neither of us have followed-through, thus far...)
2. Be prepared to spend a lot of time rebuilding if you have a future engineer on your hands. The two oldest love to tear-down and rebuild, which is brilliant, except you can only build-out at the bottom loop where it is level and if the tracks and such aren't snapped just-so into place, trains derail, chaos ensues.
3. SAVE THE INSTRUCTION SHEET! I consider myself to be well educated, thus, I'm comfortable in stating that nothing about the assembly of this track is innate.
4. I've considered mounting and gluing this set, which would leave the kids to build around. There are problems with some motorized engines diving off the track at the split if it's not absolutely perfectly aligned, and often when that is fixed, the Bridge Drop (slide) gets caught and doesn't go down all the way.
5. The R/C 3 speed engines don't do well on this track at all, presumably due to the extra weight from the batteries?
Overall, I have had this working great on a limited basis, and when it does work, it's pretty cool...but there is seemingly just way too much reliance on stars/planets aligning, wind direction/speed, atmospheric pressures, etc. to make this a truly viable toy in my opinion.
*The last bit was merely for humor, but I have honestly crawled throughout the house with a level to the floor trying to "troubleshoot...""
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsApril 17, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having an issue with your Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 8 for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
WORST PURCHASE EVER!!!!
March 6, 2013
"This track is hard to put together then it don't want to STAY together!!!! It took me and my husband an HOUR or so to put it together, then like 15 mins later it fell apart as my son was playing with it. I wouldn't recommend this track for ANYONE!!!!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsMarch 8, 2013
We’re sorry you’re having difficulty with your Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop. If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 9 for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Chicago, IL
Number of kids: 1
Good Track
January 24, 2013
"My child and I enjoy this track. It was a not so difficult to assemble. Although it is a bit unstable it does not fall apart even though we have an inclined floor. Integrating it with the other sets was not so difficult, it actually acted as a 3rd level to the entire network we created."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:PA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
WASTE OF MONEY
January 18, 2013
"It was difficult to put together and once you got it together it just kept falling apart. My son was very upset all he wanted to do was play with it, we spent most of our time fixing the tracks and tower so he could get his train to go on it without falling to bits. all in all waste of money."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJanuary 22, 2013
We’re sorry you're having such a frustrating experience with your Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop . If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 11 for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 1 - 2 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Very Disappointed
January 14, 2013
"We bought this set for our son who loves Thomas - he got 12 different Thomas and Friends gifts this last Christmas and New Year.
He liked this one a lot and then when we started building it we got very disappointed. We experienced what most of the parents/grandparents in this review section did and more - my kid kept crying and wanting to play with it. And my kid gets really disappointed because he likes to build too and when it starts falling apart he gets very sad.
He's only 2 years old and we wanted to start building sets when he turns 3 and we want to buy more Thomas the Train Trackmaster sets.
Whatever happened to your Quality Assurance? Why let this product get finalized and be sold at all?"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJanuary 16, 2013
We’re sorry you're disappointed with the Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop set you purchased . If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 12 for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Number of kids: 0
Shocked
January 8, 2013
"I purchased this train set for my three year old grandson for his Christmas gift.I have been buying Fisher Price for my kids and grandkids for 33 years, so I was pretty confident when I bought this train set that it would be a huge hit. To my surprise it was not. It has been nothing but a complete disappointment. Very, very difficult to assemble (takes several people). The pieces are made not of the stronger/sturdy plastic but rather light weight. It does not stay assembled and is not hearty enough for the train to ride on without falling apart. In fact fall apart is the only thing it does. I would not recommend this product to anyone. Very disappointed that Fisher Price would even sell this item. I gave it a one star because you can't play with this train set.In fact I would not have given it any stars."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJanuary 10, 2013
We’re sorry you're having such a frustrating experience with your Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop . If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 13 for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Bad product- don't buy
January 7, 2013
"This product was a HUGE disappointment!! Like the other reviewers, my son is a big Thomas fan.He was excited to play w/ the product, but once I finally got the tracks put together, it would not stay connected. It is a poorly constructed product and not worth the money we spent on it. I would not recommend anyone buying it."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsJanuary 9, 2013
We’re sorry you and your son are having such a frustrating experience with your Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop . If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 14 for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Warner Robins, GA
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
Poorly Designed, Horrible to Assemble, Age Inappro
December 28, 2012
"Fisher Price has this all wrong; poorly designed and age inappropriate for 3+!
The Risky Rails Bridge Drop train was purchased for our 4 yr old grandson who has an extensive Thomas the Train collection. It took 2 hrs for 3 adults to assemble, while the other adults in the room kept telling the child not to touch it! The first time my grandson tried to put the car on the track, you guessed it, the track came apart! The track does not have enough supports nor side guards to keep the train car from flying off the curvy portions of the track. The train set comes with two cars, but we never got it to run with both train cars. If you have a train table that can be dedicated to just this train and a toddler who doesn't want to play with the train, then by all means buy it! If not, don't even entertain this as a possibility, because it is a big disappointment!!
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 31, 2012
We’re sorry you and your grandson is having such a frustrating experience with his new Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop . If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 15 for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Rating 
2 5
2 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Burnaby, BC, Canada
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Quality is not good
December 28, 2012
"We got this for my 4 yr old son as he is crazy about thomas. Just like the other reviewer said, the track keeps falling off. We also seem to have a defective part, the barrier that clips at the top of the curve doesn't stay. Upon closer inspection, it seems the clip that latches on to the track is partly melted. I've seen this problem on other thomas sets before. Quite unfortunate that there are these quality issues on such an expensive toy. Will probably be the last thomas set we buy."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 31, 2012
We’re sorry you're having trouble with your Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop . If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.
Review 16 for Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
2 5
2 5
Holds child's interest 
2 5
2 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Very disappointed
December 27, 2012
"My son received Thomas and Friends: Risky Rails Bridge Drop for Christmas and I am extremely disappointed with the quality. The pieces feel flimsy and cheap. And no matter what we do, the tracks will not stay connected to each other or the mountain pieces. The trains keep falling off the tracks because the pieces have popped up- and this is when used on a level hardwood floor! Not only am I extremely frustrated by having to continuously put the tracks together, but my son is as well. This is why I rated the "fun" as fair- he loves Thomas but is too upset with the tracks to want to play with this set for long. We also have Geotrax and I will continue to use and buy those trains instead of these Thomas Trackmaster sets. The quality of the Geotrax is far superior."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Fisher-Price:By Consumer RelationsDecember 29, 2012
We’re sorry you and your son are having such a frustrating experience with your Thomas & Friends™ TrackMaster ™ Risky Rails Bridge Drop . If you contact our Consumer Relations team they will be able to help. Live chat, phone or e-mail support is available Mon.- Fri., 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST. You can find our contact information here: http://fpfami.ly/08d5.