Product Reviews

Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)

<![CDATA[Baby kicks. Music plays. And that’s just the beginning. Movable toys on the overhead gym encourage baby to bat and grasp. Move the arch down for tummy-time play, or let baby sit and entertain you with a piano concert! And now with a removable piano, you can take the musical fun wherever you and baby go! Features • Four ways to play! Lay & play; Tummy time; Sit & play; Take-along • Music rewards baby as she kicks the piano keys • 5 busy activity toys & a large mirror • Toys include a hippo teether, elephant clackers, rollerball frog & more! • Short or long-play music—up to 15 minutes • Soft, comfy mat • Power/volume control • Requires 3 AA batteries Sensory Music, friendly characters, colorful patterns and a mirror help stimulate baby’s senses. Gross Motor Piano keys help strengthen gross motor skills as baby stretches & kicks. Curiosity & Discovery Five busy activity toys, including a large mirror, encourage baby to bat & grasp. ]]>
3.739
3.7
(46 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
7
33 of 46(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Review 1 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Orchard Park, NY
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great Product
September 4, 2014
"My son who is 2 months old loves this product. It holds his attention very well. He loves sounds and the objects that hang."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Rochester, NY
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Most Bang for your Buck
June 13, 2014
"We started using this product when our son was about 2 weeks old. He could get the music to play and the hanging toys were bright and interesting enough for him to look at. By 1 month old, he would use it every morning for play time. He would giggle and really get kicking. At 2 months, we're still using it every morning and now in the afternoon as well. As a stay at home mom looking to play and engage with my baby, this is a toy that worked for us right away and I'm looking forward to watching him grow with it! We definitely recommend it!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Texas
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: Baby on the way
Relationship to child: Mom
Fun for baby (and for you)
June 1, 2014
"My guy has put this piano kicker to the test. At first I thought I didn't like the product because it the toys hung down so far. But he just needed to grow into it and at 3.5 months really started to interact. He's 5 months now and yanks on the toys, kicks the arch and kicks that piano. It's still like new! And the washable mat is convenient since he's such a drooler these days."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:CR, IA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: Birth - 5 mos.
Relationship to child: Mom
Wish they hadn't changed it...
March 27, 2014
"I bought this for my unborn daughter while I was pregnant. I absolutely love it! She has been playing with it regularly since she was 2 months old, and really started enjoying it at 3 months old. She loves the toys and mirror and the songs that play when she kicks the piano. Thankfully I bought mine right before FP changed it. I bought one for a friend of mine based on how much my daughter loves it. I noticed that the toys and piano are a little cheaper looking on the newer version. There are lights on my daughter's piano, the new one doesn't have any. My daughter's toys are all made of plastic, whereas the new ones are mostly made of fabric. Not sure why FP decided to make these changes, but I wish they hadn't. Overall this is still a great play mat."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:New Richmond, OH
Number of kids: 0
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Uncle
Good pet substitute
March 2, 2010
"I gave Spike for Christmas to one of my grandnephews. Afterwards he told me that this was exactly what he wanted. He still plays with Spike from time to time. It is awesome to watch him when Spike stands on his hind legs and roars. For little kids who cannot have a puppy or a kitten, Spike appears to be a good interim substitute."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
4 5
4 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Aunt
Adorable
February 7, 2010
"This dinosaur is adorable. He is very sturdy. Although the battery only lasts 5 minutes."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Colorado
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great!
February 3, 2010
"Our son wanted this very badly. He plays with it constantly. He is 3. It took him a while to figure out the controls, but the pictures really help. He can't get enough of it. There's nothing else like it that we can find. I highly recommend this. I'm worried about the duribility with 2 boys, but time will tell. He understands you can't force it now. The battery takes 4 hours to charge and he turned it off when he napped or ate and wasn't playing with it but it did die around 6pm. I wish it had a longer battery life."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Quakertown, PA
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Spike is fabulous
February 2, 2010
"Our 3.5 year old son received Spike for Christmas. He loves it, but his 18 month old brother loves it even more. Our 18 month old (is very strong!) picks up Spike and carries him all over and drags him by the neck when he wants him turned back on. Spike has been dropped several times and is a tough toy. We are very happy with Spike. He is fun for the whole family, he even keeps our 5 month old entertained when her brothers are playing with him. I highly recommend this toy."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Bartow, Florida
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Great toy but outrageously priced.
January 20, 2010
"Great toy! My 2 year old son loved him in the store when he was in the display case. However when he opened him up Christmas and we put the batteries in he was scared of him. Would recommend for kids 5 and up. So we will hang onto Spike until he is not afraid of him. Us parents had a blast playing with him!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Bensalem, PA
Number of kids: 1
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
So Entertaining!
January 14, 2010
"Spike the dinosaur was a great gift for my 3 year old son. The assembly wasn't difficult, just took a little time. We charged him the appropriate amount of time. Then once that was done - my son played with him. It took him about 2 - 3 tries to get down the remote, but has no problems now. The charge lasts here. My son plays with the dinosaur daily and we haven't had to charge him yet (it's been over a week). Spike is a great TOY and very entertaining for everyone in the house (even the adults)!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
2 5
2 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Jacksonville Florida
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
terrible charging system
January 12, 2010
"There is no way that a 3 year old can operate this by themselves. The batteries wear out after about 3 hours and are not very accessible. You need a screwdriver to unlatch the door, you must take out the battery and plug it in to charge. It needs to have a simpler charging system."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Ohio
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Uncertain, but pleasently surprised!
January 10, 2010
"I was uncertain about purchasing Spike after reading some less than stellar reviews. Although, I was pleasently surprised. My 4 yr old loves Spike! He can easily use the remote control and we have only had to charge the battery twice (the first was the initial charge). I could see that if Spike is used ALOT you may have to charge more often. My son plays with him once or twice daily. If I had one complaint, it would be that Spike does not go in reverse! He can do so much already...why not add a reverse feature?!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Washington
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Spike ROCKS!
January 7, 2010
"This is the best toy we've ever bought. My son loves the way Spike moves and walks, very realistic. The remote is easy to work and has many interactive buttons to make play fun. The lights on the back of the dino and the way the eyes and mouth move really bring reality to play! The included rechargable battery pack means my son can enjoy his toy longer without having to keep batteries on hand. The remote requires replaceable batteries, but all in all, a great toy for imaginative preschoolers."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
3 5
3 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:VA
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
Disappointment for Christmas
December 28, 2009
"Growing up as a boy with a brother. My parents knew the rule for buying two of the same remote control toys. Two different colors, two different frequencies. I never thought that on Christmas my children would have to take turns playing with two different toys. I most frustrating part is that when I called Fisher-Price the very nice rep. told me that the question of only one frequency had come up in training sessions. Also I have found people on-line complaining of this issue in 2008. Why is it not fixed?"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
3 5
3 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Spike can't hang
December 28, 2009
"Very disappointed that Spike's battery only lasts for about an hour. My 3 year old hardley wants to wait 4 hours for the battery to charge. For $140.00 kids should be able to play longer. :o("
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:lemoore ca
Number of kids: 3
Age of child purchased for: 3 - 4 yrs.
Relationship to child: Dad
spike is a bust
December 26, 2009
"My 3 yr screamed and yell for Spike after one step he stop working. New remote is enroute will update to see if the remote was the issue or if Spike is really a bust."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
4 5
4 5
Fun 
4 5
4 5
Holds child's interest 
3 5
3 5
Quality/durability 
3 5
3 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Wisconsin
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 5 yrs. & older.
Relationship to child: Mom
One controller controls both dino's
December 26, 2009
"We purchased two Spikes this year for our two boys ages 6 & 3. Of course their eyes bulged when they found them under the tree this year. They REALLY enjoy playing with them; unfortunately they can't play with them together in the same room. It appears they use the same frequency. One controller controls both dino's making it pretty frustrating to the 6 year old that knows what he wants Spike to do. Having a few differenct frequency selection is a needed improvement. In addition; the rechargeable battery is a great idea. Having the ability to recharge without having to remove the battery pack would be a big plus."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
4 5
4 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:Ortonville, MI
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandmother
Poor quality
December 23, 2009
"Ran out at 11:30 pm to get Spike. Put him together the night before Christmas Eve and he does not work correctly. The leg will not lock into place impairing his ability to walk.
I was skeptical on buying him due to the mixed reviews. This only confirms my skepticism-this is a very expensive toy to have it not work correctly. The day before Christmas and no toy for my Grandson."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
1 5
1 5
Fun 
1 5
1 5
Holds child's interest 
1 5
1 5
Quality/durability 
1 5
1 5
Would you recommend? No
Location:L.A, CA
Number of kids: More than 4
Age of child purchased for: 4 - 5 yrs.
Relationship to child: Grandfather
My WORST buy... EVER!
October 25, 2009
"I've purchased a lot of gifts in my day, BUT THIS ONE WAS THE WORST! I only bought it because it was a dinosaur, And my Grand Children LOVE dinosaurs, But not this one! It's loud, Ugly, and just plain ANNOYING! IT DOESN'T TEACH MANNERS- it destroys them! Don't EVER buy Spike, the dinosaur.
P.S. It costs 140! Cheap!"
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kick & Play Piano Gym (Blue)
This review is fromKick & Play Piano Gym (Blue).
Rating 
5 5
5 5
Fun 
5 5
5 5
Holds child's interest 
5 5
5 5
Quality/durability 
5 5
5 5
Would you recommend? Yes
Location:Colorado
Number of kids: 2
Age of child purchased for: 2 - 3 yrs.
Relationship to child: Mom
Wonderful toy from Fisher-Price!
August 7, 2009
"After reading all of the reviews with issues regarding battery life and mechanical problems, I felt that I needed to add our positive review here. We purchased Spike for our 2 1/2 year old for Christmas '08, and have had nothing but positive experience with it. We are just having to recharge our battery pack for the first time (in August '09), and Spike has worked perfectly from the moment we put him together and continuously ever since. I am sad to hear that others have had problems with it working properly. It is a family favorite here...highly recommended! Way to go Fisher-Price for a great toy. (Our 6 year old girl enjoys it, as well.)"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>